Handmade World Tour in China: Experiences

From 2016 to 2018, Direktorenhaus organized various exhibitions in China, some of them as part of the Handmade in Germany World Tour. The exhibitions took place in Shanghai, Macao, Shenzhen, Tianjin, Zhuhai, Beijing and other cities. On the whole, positive experiences clearly predominated — but this statement also reflects the insight that a continuous and structured development of customer relations to China definitely takes a long time.

Lesser known cities are just as interesting

In November 2016, for example, it was Shenzhen’s turn, a city we had not originally planned for. The Chinese boomtown is located in the province of Guangdong. In the south Shenzhen borders on Hong Kong. This proximity and its status as a special economic zone make Shenzhen an important city for foreign investment. We were surprised to see such a young audience; after discussions it quickly turned out that these young visitors — who would have been more likely to have been founders in the start-up scene in this country — all held not insignificant positions in various public organisations or private companies. All in all, the assumption that we will be dealing with a comparatively young clientele in China in the future was confirmed: While we still have the classic “connoisseurs” in mind in the european manufacturing and luxury environment, we see many young people looking at the products from a completely different perspective in China. In addition to typical luxury customers, according to studies these are the so-called “opinion leaders”, who account for around 30 percent of Chinese luxury consumers. These approximately nine million customers are either entrepreneurs or managers of large Chinese companies. The majority of opinion leaders are between 25 and 40 years old and mainly live in Tier 1 cities. Like the “hardcore” consumers, they are mostly well educated and often have international experience.

At the handmade exhibition in Shenzhen, we also had many conversations with people we suspected to be middle class. For these people, too, there is a classification in studies that we can subsequently use. With around 4.5 million people, these “mid-class climbers” account for around 15 percent of Chinese luxury customers. As the name suggests, they are social climbers who mostly hold middle management positions in national or international companies. Most of them are between 25 and 35 years old and are able to consume luxury goods due to their professional development.

Our exhibition in Shenzhen led to contacts from surrounding cities, which enabled us to show the Handmade in Germany show in Zhuhai at the turn of the year. The exhibition took place at the Jin Hai An Art and Cultural Center, which recently opened as a new cultural building in Zhuhai.

 

Zhuhai was a discovery: the city is called the “City of Romanticism”, the region is called the Chinese Riviera. For travellers, it is first and foremost an interesting border crossing to Macau. The city has hardly any natural or cultural sights, but is very popular with business people from Hong Kong or Macau as a weekend domicile. Economically, the city belongs to the up-and-coming centres of the country. The currently four golf courses (another two under construction), a racecourse, various amusement parks and other recreational opportunities make Zhuhai a popular place for the Chinese upper class.

There is no China, only regions

China is so large that it offers itself to remain in a certain regional area — despite all political centralization. Zhuhai, for example, is basically like Shenzhen to Hong Kong. Both are special economic zones founded by China on the capitalist model to benefit from the airstream of the two self-governing zones. It was not until 1979 that a fishing village developed into a city with over a million inhabitants, having become a special economic zone a year earlier. On 1653 square kilometers 1.4 million inhabitants live; in comparison, Macau is almost uninhabited. The “Handmade in Germany” exhibition met with great curiosity on the part of the predominantly young public, but also with strong interest on the part of the city’s political leadership.

 

With Hong Kong, the “Handmade in Germany” World Tour reaches its next exhibition venue. In March, the tour presents itself at the UMAG University Museum and Art Gallery. In addition to numerous of its own collections, the museum regularly presents exhibitions of Chinese and Western art. For those who have not yet been there, Hong Kong is an impressively diverse city. The rugged urban area is spread over a semicircle of several hundred islands, which are continuously growing.

With the rising population numbers and the continuing construction boom, so-called “New Territories” are literally emerging from nowhere. The seven million inhabitants make the metropolis located at the mouth of the Pearl River a mega-city. Chinese and English are the two official languages, but the cultural scene is shaped by the majority of inhabitants of Chinese descent and primarily Cantonese mother tongue, who make up 95 percent of the city’s population. The diversity of languages is also reflected in the many religions practiced. Hong Kong’s special status is manifested in its designation as a special administrative zone on the south coast of the People’s Republic of China. Since Hong Kong was occupied by Great Britain in 1841 during the First Opium War and was named its colony two years later, the area provided a shelter for numerous Chinese fleeing from military conflicts over political leadership during the Chinese Civil War (1927–1949). Since state sovereignty was transferred to the People’s Republic of China in 1997, Hong Kong has enjoyed the privilege of a free market economy and the widest possible autonomy.

Tianjin

The local handmade exhibition took place in the centre of Hong Kong, in the UMAG Museum. Afterwards she travelled from Hong Kong to Tianjin. The megacity, which recently became part of the integrated economic region with the neighbouring cities of Beijing and Hebei, is an industrial centre, transport hub and cultural centre with universities, colleges, museums and monuments. Tianjin is famous for its traditional woodcuts and murals, which decorate many homes during the Chinese New Year, as was recently celebrated.

 

The exciting combination of new work designs, intelligent integration and appreciation of tradition and innovation made Tanjin an interesting stop on the “Handmade in Germany” World Tour. Tianjin is an important port city in the People’s Republic of China and home to one of the ten most frequented ports in the world. The entire urban administrative area has an area of 11,943 sqm. Tianjin is one of the four direct government cities in China, i.e. it is directly subordinated to the central government in Beijing and thus has the same status as a province. The city with 7 million inhabitants lies in the north of China, southeast of Beijing, at the confluence of the Hai He and the Emperor’s Canal, which decisively determines the impressive and diverse cityscape. Tianjin’s favourable logistical location also makes it exciting for foreign companies.

The history of Tianjin from a fishing village to a modern trading metropolis goes back many centuries and is strongly linked to the history of the capital. From the 11th to the 14th century, Tianjin was a small seaport of great importance for the imperial court as a grain warehouse. Later, when originally independent empires were subdued in southern China, the city was a transit port for the tributes and deliveries from those empires to the capital. During the Yuan Dynasty in the 13th century, the Emperor’s Canal leading through Tianjin was finally completed and extended to Beijing. The name Tianjin was given to the city by Emperor Zhudi during the early years of the Ming Dynasty (1368–1644). At this time, the city was given its supremacy as a port for Beijing and a heavily fortified garrison city. Later, during the Qing Dynasty (1644–1911), Tianjin developed into a flourishing trading centre, which it has remained to this day.

Liaison office in China

After the experiences in China, the Master Council goes to the next level. The aim is to establish a permanent liaison office attached to the liaison office of the city of Berlin in the German Center in Beijing. Over the next few years, a local network is to be set up in China to support market entry. With the representation of the manufactories from Germany, the entry barriers to the Chinese market will be lowered and strategically sustainable partnerships for the placement of the manufactory products will be created. The representative office acts as an interface between the regionally producing manufactories and the Chinese dealers.

Contact Person, Office China
Prof. Jonas Polfuß
polfuss@meisterrat.de
German Center Beijing
Sabine Yang-Schmidt (for Berlin)
Chief Representative China |首席代表
Berlin Government, Senate Department for Economics, Energy and Public Enterprises, Representative Office Beijing
Landmark Tower II  |  Unit 1130 |  8, North Dongsanhuan Road  |  Beijing, 10004

China: Erfahrungen der Handmade World Tour

Von 2016 bis 2018 orga­ni­sierte das Direk­to­ren­haus unter­schied­li­chen Ausstel­lungen in China, einige davon im Rahmen der Hand­made in Germany World­tour. Die Ausstel­lungen führten u.a. nach Shanghai, Macao, Shen­zhen, Tianjin, Zhuhai, Peking. Im Ganzen über­wogen posi­tive Erfah­rungen deut­lich – in dieser Aussage findet sich jedoch auch die Erkenntnis wieder, dass ein konti­nu­ier­li­cher und struk­tu­rierter Aufbau von Kunden­be­zie­hungen nach China durchaus einen langem Atem braucht. 

Auch unbekanntere Städte interessant

Im November 2016 war z.B. Shen­zhen an der Reihe, eine Stadt, die wir ursprüng­lich nicht auf dem Plan hatten. Die chine­si­sche Boom­town liegt in der Provinz Guang­dong. Im Süden grenzt Shen­zhen an Hong­kong. Durch diese Nähe und den Status als Sonder­wirt­schafts­zone gilt Shen­zhen als eine bedeu­tende Stadt für auslän­di­sche Inves­ti­tionen. Über­rascht waren wir, so junges Publikum zu sehen; nach Gesprä­chen stellte sich schnell heraus, dass diese jungen Besu­cher – die man hier­zu­lande eher als Gründer in der Startup-Szene vermutet hätte – alle­samt nicht unwich­tige Posi­tionen in diversen öffent­li­chen Orga­ni­sa­tionen oder privaten Firmen inne­hatten. Insge­samt bestä­tigte sich die Vermu­tung, dass wir es in China in der Zukunft mit einem vergleichs­weise jungen Klientel zu tun haben werden: Während uns in Europa im Manu­faktur- und Luxus­um­feld noch die klas­si­schen „Connais­seure“ vor Augen stehen, sehen wir in China viele junge Menschen, die mit einem ganz anderen Blick auf die Produkte schauen. Neben den typi­schen Luxus­kunden sind dies Studien zufolge die sog. „Opinion Leaders”, die rund 30 Prozent der chine­si­schen Luxus­kon­su­menten ausma­chen. Diese circa neun Millionen Kunden sind entweder Unter­nehmer oder Manager großer chine­si­scher Firmen. Die Opinion Leader sind größ­ten­teils zwischen 25 und 40 Jahre alt und leben schwer­punkt­mäßig in den Tier-1-Städten. Wie die „Hardcore”-Konsumenten sind sie zumeist gut ausge­bildet und haben häufig inter­na­tio­nale Erfah­rungen.

Auf der Hand­made-Ausstel­lung in Shen­zhen führten wir auch viele Gespräche mit Leuten, die wir eher in der Mittel­schicht vermu­teten. Auch für diese Personen gibt es in Studien eine Zuord­nung, die uns nach­träg­lich erschließt. Diese „Mid-Class Climber” machen mit circa 4,5 Millionen Menschen rund 15 Prozent der chine­si­schen Luxus­kunden aus. Wie der Name andeutet, handelt es sich bei ihnen um soziale Aufsteiger, die zumeist Funk­tionen im Mittel­ma­nage­ment natio­naler oder inter­na­tio­naler Unter­nehmen bekleiden. Sie sind größ­ten­teils zwischen 25 und 35 Jahre alt und durch ihre beruf­liche Entwick­lung in der Lage, Luxus­güter zu konsu­mieren.

Unsere Ausstel­lung in Shen­zhen führte zu Kontakten aus umlie­genden Städten, die es uns ermög­lichten, über den Jahres­wechsel die Hand­made in Germany-Schau im Anschluss in Zhuhai zu zeigen. Die Ausstel­lung fand im Jin Hai An Art and Cultural Center statt, die unlängst eröffnet wurde und als neues Kultur­ge­bäude Zhuhais gilt.

Zhuhai war eine Entde­ckung: die Stadt nennt sich die „Stadt der Romantik“, die Region bezeichnet sich als chine­si­sche Riviera. Für Reisende ist sie in erster Linie inter­es­sant als Grenz­über­gang nach Macau. Die Stadt verfügt kaum über natür­liche oder kultu­relle Sehens­wür­dig­keiten, ist aber bei Geschäfts­leuten aus Hong­kong oder Macau sehr beliebt als Wochen­end­do­mizil. Wirt­schaft­lich gehört die Stadt den aufstre­benden Zentren des Landes. Die zur Zeit vier Golf­plätze (weitere zwei in Bau), eine Renn­bahn, verschie­dene Frei­zeit­parks und andere Möglich­keiten der Frei­zeit­ge­stal­tung machen Zhuhai zu einem beliebten Ort für die chine­si­sche Ober­schicht.

China gibt es nicht, nur Regionen

China ist so groß, dass es sich anbietet, in einem bestimmten regio­nalen Bereich zu bleiben – aller poli­ti­schen Zentra­li­sie­rung zum Trotz. Zhuhai etwa verhält sich im Grunde zu Macau wie Shen­zhen zu Hong­kong. Beides Sonder­wirt­schafts­zonen, die von China im kapi­ta­lis­ti­schen Vorbild gegründet wurden, um im Fahrt­wind der beiden Selbst­ver­wal­tungs­zonen zu profi­tieren. Erst ab 1979 entwi­ckelte sich aus einem Fischer­dorf eine Millio­nen­stadt, nachdem es ein Jahr zuvor zu einer Sonder­wirt­schafts­zone wurde. Auf 1653 Quadrat­ki­lo­me­tern leben 1,4 Millionen Einwohner; im Vergleich hierzu ist Macau nahezu unbe­sie­delt. Die „Hand­made in Germany„Ausstellung stieß auf große Neugier des vorwie­gend jungen Publi­kums, aller­dings auch auf starkes Inter­esse der städ­ti­schen poli­ti­schen Führung.

Mit Hong Kong erreicht die „Hand­made in Germany“ World­tour ihren nächsten Ausstel­lungsort. Im März präsen­tiert sich die Tour im dortigen UMAG Univer­sity Museum and Art Gallery. Neben zahl­rei­chen eigenen Samm­lungen zeigt das Museum regel­mäßig Ausstel­lungen chine­si­scher und west­li­cher Kunst. Hong Kong ist, für den gespro­chen, der noch nicht dort war, eine eindrucks­voll viel­fäl­tige Stadt. Das zerklüf­tete Stadt­ge­biet verteilt sich auf ein Halb­rund mehrere Hundert Inseln, die konti­nu­ier­lich anwachsen.

Mit den stei­genden Bevöl­ke­rungs­zahlen und dem fort­wäh­renden Bauboom entstehen soge­nannte „New Terri­to­ries“ förm­lich aus dem Nichts. Die sieben Millionen Einwohner machen die im Mündungs­ge­biet des Perl­flusses gele­gene Metro­pole zu einer Mega-City. Chine­sisch und Englisch sind die beiden Amts­spra­chen, prägend für die Kultur­szene ist aller­dings der über­wie­gende Anteil von Einwoh­nern mit chine­si­scher Abstam­mung und vornehm­lich kanto­ne­si­scher Mutter­sprache, die 95 Prozent der Stadt­be­völ­ke­rung ausma­chen. Die Viel­falt der Spra­chen spie­gelt sich auch in den vielen prak­ti­zierten Reli­gionen wider. Der beson­dere Status Hong Kongs mani­fes­tiert sich in der Bezeich­nung als Sonder­ver­wal­tungs­zone an der Südküste der Volks­re­pu­blik China. Seitdem Hong Kong 1841 während des Ersten Opium­krieges von Groß­bri­tan­nien besetzt und zwei Jahre später zu dessen Kolonie ernannt wurde, bot das Gebiet in der Zeit des Chine­si­schen Bürger­kriegs (1927 bis 1949) einen Schutz­raum für zahl­reiche Chinesen, die aufgrund der mili­tä­ri­schen Konflikte um die poli­ti­sche Führung flüch­teten. Seit die staat­liche Hoheit 1997 an die Volks­re­pu­blik China über­tragen wurde, genießt Hong­kong das Privileg einer freien Markt­wirt­schaft und weitest gehenden Auto­nomie.

Tianjin

Die Hand­made-Ausstel­lung fand ganz im Zentrum Hong Kongs statt, im UMAG Museum. Danach reiste sie nach von Hong Kong weiter nach Tianjin. Die Mega­stadt, die kürz­lich Teil der inte­grierten Wirt­schafts­re­gion mit den angren­zenden Städten Peking und Hebei geworden ist, ist Indus­trie­zen­trum, Verkehrs­knoten und kultu­reller Mittel­punkt mit Univer­si­täten, Hoch­schulen, Museen und Baudenk­mä­lern. Tianjin ist berühmt für tradi­tio­nellen Holz­schnitt und Wand­ma­le­reien, die zum chine­si­schen Neujahr – wie es kürz­lich gefeiert wurde – viele Wohn­räume zieren.

Die span­nende Kombi­na­tion aus neuen Arbeits­ent­würfen, intel­li­genter Inte­gra­tion und Wert­schät­zung von Tradi­tion und Inno­va­tion machten Tanjin zu einer inter­es­santen Station der „Hand­made in Germany“ Worldtour.Tianjin ist eine wich­tige Hafen­stadt der Volks­re­pu­blik China und behei­matet einen der zehn meist frequen­tierten Häfen der Welt. Das gesamte Verwal­tungs­ge­biet der Stadt hat eine Fläche von 11.943 qm. Tianjin ist eine der vier Regie­rungs­un­mit­tel­baren Städte in China, das heißt sie ist der Zentral­re­gie­rung in Peking direkt unter­stellt und hat damit denselben Status wie eine Provinz. Die Stadt mit 7 Millionen Einwoh­nern liegt im Norden Chinas, südöst­lich von Peking, am Zusam­men­fluss des Hai He mit dem Kaiser­kanal, der das eindrucks­volle und diverse Stadt­bild maßgeb­lich bestimmt. Die güns­tige logis­ti­sche Lage der Stadt, machen Tianjin zusätz­lich span­nend für auslän­di­sche Unter­nehmen.

Die Geschichte Tian­jins vom Fischer­dorf zur modernen Handels­me­tro­pole reicht viele Jahr­hun­derte zurück und ist stark mit der Geschichte der Haupt­stadt verknüpft. Vom 11. bis 14. Jahr­hun­dert war Tianjin ein kleiner Seehafen, der für den kaiser­li­chen Hof als Getrei­de­lager hohe Bedeu­tung hatte. Später, als ursprüng­lich unab­hän­gige Reiche im Süden Chinas unter­worfen wurden, war die Stadt Durch­gangs­hafen für die Tribute und Liefe­rungen aus jenen Reichen an die Haupt­stadt. Während der Yuan-Dynastie im 13. Jahr­hun­dert wurde schließ­lich der durch Tianjin führende Kaiser­kanal fertig­ge­stellt und bis nach Peking verlän­gert. Den Namen Tianjin erhielt die Stadt vom Kaiser Zhudi während der frühen Jahre der Ming-Dynastie (1368–1644). Zu dieser Zeit erhielt die Stadt seine Vorrang­stel­lung als Hafen für Peking und stark befes­tigte Garni­sons­stadt. Später, unter der Qing-Dynastie (1644–1911), entwi­ckelte sich Tianjin zu dem florie­renden Handels­zen­trum, was es bis heute geblieben ist.

Verbin­dungs­büro in China

Der Meis­terrat geht nach den Erfah­rungen in China in eine nächste Stufe. Ziel ist der Aufbau eines stän­digen Verbin­dungs­büros, das an des Verbin­dungs­büro der Stadt Berlin im German Center in Peking ange­glie­dert ist. In den nächsten Jahren soll ein Netz­werkes vor Ort in China aufge­baut werden, das beim Markt­ein­tritt unter­stützt. Mit der Reprä­sen­tanz der Manu­fak­turen aus Deutsch­land werden in Hinblick auf den chine­si­schen Markt die Eintritts­bar­rieren abge­senkt und stra­te­gisch nach­hal­tige Part­ner­schaften zur Plat­zie­rung der Manu­fak­tur­pro­dukte geschaffen. Die Reprä­sen­tanz fungiert dabei als Schnitt­stelle zwischen den regional produ­zie­renden Manu­fak­turen und den chine­si­schen Händ­lern.

Ansprechpartner Verbindungsbüro/ China:
Prof. Jonas Polfuß
polfuss@meisterrat.de
German Center Beijing
Sabine Yang-Schmidt (für Berlin)
Chief Representative China |首席代表
Berlin Government, Senate Department for Economics, Energy and Public Enterprises, Representative Office Beijing
Landmark Tower II  |  Unit 1130 |  8, North Dongsanhuan Road  |  Beijing, 10004