Handmade in New York

From 20 to 23 May 2018, the Hand­made in Germany World Tour gave a guest perfor­mance in New York. In the Jacob Jarvitz Center, centrally located in Manhattan, our exhi­bi­tion of German manu­fac­to­ries was a guest at ICFF, the most impor­tant Amer­ican furni­ture fair. The US market was still new terri­tory for many manu­fac­to­ries, others, like Ingo Maurer, moved with the ease of several years of expe­ri­ence on the Amer­ican floor.

A different experience than in China

After the numerous stops in China, the impres­sions from New York were different: The audi­ence was knowl­edge­able, asked specific ques­tions and often quickly answered the ques­tion about the avail­ability of the prod­ucts in the USA. Basi­cally, it was felt that it would be easier for many manu­fac­turers to enter the market here than in China. This led many exhibitors to decide to prefer activ­i­ties in the USA to activ­i­ties in China. The Amer­ican market remains inter­esting for many medium-sized quality compa­nies.

 

Despite some uncer­tainty through the current US govern­ment, invest­ments by German SMEs in the USA remain at a high level. The general mood of German compa­nies oper­ating there is also posi­tive. In the current AHK USA survey, all German compa­nies surveyed expect growth for their busi­ness in 2019. The USA remains an attrac­tive target market. The S-Coun­try­Desk and Deutsche Leasing network orga­ni­za­tions, which are repre­sented in the USA, are also observing this. German prod­ucts are in demand like never before.

The US economy is the world’s largest buyer of German exports and the No. 1 sales market for German prod­ucts. This is not only due to the sheer market volume. Amer­i­cans are very open to new prod­ucts and trends. This is favourable for the plans of German medium-sized compa­nies who want to expand or invest. The figures, however, mainly concern the classic German middle class, e.g. machine industry. For manu­fac­turers and quality producers, the starting points are more diffi­cult.

For most exhibitors this “hand­made” station was the begin­ning of a hope­fully longer romance with the Amer­ican market, espe­cially with New York, which, as is well known, still has the most billion­aires as inhab­i­tants. Although you don’t have to be a billion­aire to be able to purchase the artistic hand­i­craft prod­ucts from Germany, the atten­tion paid to quality prod­ucts on the Amer­ican conti­nent is consid­er­able, as we were able to feel on the spot.

Website:
https://www.handmade-worldtour.com

Handmade in New York

Vom 20. -23. Mai 2018 gastierte die Hand­made in Germany World­tour in New York. Im Jacob Jarvitz Center, zentral gelegen in Manhattan, war unsere Ausstel­lung der deut­schen Manu­fak­turen auf der ICFF zu Gast, der wich­tigsten ameri­ka­ni­schen Möbel­messe. Der US-ameri­ka­ni­sche Markt war für viele Manu­fak­turen noch Neuland, andere, wie Ingo Maurer, bewegten sich mit der Leich­tig­keit von mehr­jäh­riger Erfah­rung auf dem ameri­ka­ni­schen Parkett.

Andere Erfah­rung als in China

Nach den zahl­rei­chen Stationen in China waren die Eindrücke aus New York andere: Das Publikum war kennt­nis­reich, fragte gezielt und ging oft recht schnell auf die Frage der Verfüg­bar­keit der Produkte in den USA. Grund­sätz­lich spürte man, dass ein Markt­ein­tritt für viele Manu­fak­turen hier einfa­cher sein würde als in China. Dies führte bei vielen Ausstel­lern zur Entschei­dung, einem Enga­ge­ment in China nicht viel­leicht doch eher Akti­vi­täten in den USA vorzu­ziehen. Der ameri­ka­ni­sche Markt bleibt für viele mittel­stän­di­sche Quali­täts­un­ter­nehmen inter­es­sant.

Trotz einiger Verun­si­che­rungen durch die aktu­elle US-Regie­rung liegen die Inves­ti­tionen deut­scher Mittel­ständler in den USA weiter auf einem hohen Niveau. Auch die Grund­stim­mung deut­scher Unter­nehmen, die dort aktiv sind, fällt positiv aus. In der aktu­ellen Umfrage der AHK USA erwarten durchweg alle befragten deut­schen Unter­nehmen für ihr Geschäft im Jahr 2019 ein Wachstum. Die USA bleiben als Ziel­markt attraktiv. Das beob­achten auch die Verbund­or­ga­ni­sa­tionen S-Coun­try­Desk und Deut­sche Leasing, die in den USA vertreten sind. Deut­sche Produkte sind gefragt wie nie.

Die Volks­wirt­schaft der USA ist der welt­weit größte Abnehmer deut­scher Exporte und Absatz­markt Nr. 1 für deut­sche Produkte. Das liegt nicht nur am schieren Markt­vo­lumen. Die Ameri­kaner sind sehr offen bei neuen Produkte und Trends. Das ist günstig für die Pläne deut­scher Mittel­ständler, die expan­dieren oder inves­tieren wollen. Die Zahlen betreffen aber vor allem den klas­si­schen deut­schen Mittel­stand, z.B. Maschi­nen­her­steller. Für Manu­fak­turen und Quali­täts­pro­du­zenten sind die Anknüp­fungs­punkte schwie­riger.

Für die meisten Aussteller war diese Hand­made-Station jeden­falls der Anfang von einer hoffent­lich längeren Romanze mit dem ameri­ka­ni­schen Markt, vor allem mit New York, das bekannt­lich immer noch die meisten Milli­ar­däre als Einwohner verzeichnet. Milli­ardär sein muss man zwar nicht, um die Produkte des künst­le­ri­schen Hand­werks aus Germany erwerben zu können, aber die Aufmerk­sam­keit, die auf dem ameri­ka­ni­schen Konti­nent Quali­täts­pro­dukten entge­gen­ge­bracht wird, ist beacht­lich, was wir vor Ort auch spüren konnten.

Webseite:
https://www.handmade-worldtour.com