How Art a Design can be?

What is art, what is design? Where is the boundary between art and design? The network meeting on November 1 was dedicated to these questions, which apparently have no easy answers. “How Art a Design can be” is the theme of the evening that guest curator Teodora Kotseva led through. Various formats — lectures, discussions and a design talk — offered potential for explanations. In a get-together, international actors and members of the Meisterrat discussed the big and small challenges of contemporary design. Labinac, Vaust and Judy Rambags were part of the talk moderated among others by Katja Kleiss.

 

 

The lines between art and design are blurred. One way to look at this relationship is to ask if art and design belong to the same system: manufacturing, production, organisational, market. With the blooming of galleries dedicated to selling art with functional characteristics we witness a separation, albeit, not so clear from the typical design field. Young designers, as they are also represented in the Meisterrat, necessarily have to find their position between commercial, aesthetic and functional requirements. The idea behind this talk is to bring together various players in the face of established artists and design studios, gallerists, academy professors, and discuss the main characteristics of the two fields, the current market dynamics and trends, as well as the positioning of emerging practitioners within the existing art and design markets.

 

 

The range of topics included the taste-makers and the gatekeepers in the design-art markets, the commercialisation of galleries, the role of collectors and Berlin’s place in the market of limited edition design. Topics, therefore, from which the present members of the Meisterrat and participants could also profit. As creative cultural actors, they are also in daily contact with gallery owners, exhibitors and collectors. In the end, the results of the discussions and the personal exchange among themselves have helped the members of the Meisterrat to question their belonging and positioning on the design or art market.

 

 

All Photo Credits by Kaska Jankiewicz https://kaskajankiewicz.com

How Art a Design can be?

Was ist Kunst, was Design? Wo verläuft die Grenze dazwischen? Diesen Fragen, auf die es scheinbar keine einfachen Antworten gibt, war das Netzwerktreffen am 1. November gewidmet. „How Art a Design can be?“ heißt das Thema des Abends, durch den Gastkuratorin Teodora Kotseva führte. Verschiedene Formate – Vorträge, Diskussionen und ein Design-Talk – boten Potential für Erklärungsansätze. In einem Get-Together diskutierten internationale Akteure und Mitglieder des Meisterrates die großen und kleinen Probleme des zeitgenössischen Designs. Labinac, Vaust und Judy Rambags waren Teil des Talks, u.a. Katja Kleiss moderierte.

Die Grenzen zwischen Kunst und Design sind fließend. Um die Wechselseitigkeit der beiden Sphären zu ergründen, muss man deshalb zunächst hinterfragen, ob Kunst und Design zum gleichen System gehören: Herstellungsprozesse, Markt oder Marketingformen sind ähnlich und gleichen sich eigentlich im Kern. Mit dem Aufkommen spezialisierter Design-Art-Galerien, die sich auf Design-Unikate und ihre Sammler spezialisieren, wird der Art-Design-Hybrid in den Markt getragen. Mit der Betonung des funktionalen Wertes von Kunst erleben wir eine Abgrenzung zum typischen Designbereich. Junge Designer, wie sie auch im Meisterrat vertreten sind, müssen sich zwangsläufig zwischen kommerziellen, ästhetischen und funktionalen Anforderungen verorten. Im Rahmen des Talks kamen etablierte Künstler, Designstudios, Galeristen und Akademieprofessoren zusammen, um die Hauptmerkmale der beiden Bereiche, die aktuelle Marktdynamik, Trends sowie die Positionierung von Nachwuchsakteuren innerhalb der bestehenden Kunst- und Designmärkte zu diskutieren.

Welche Impulsgeber stilprägend sind und welche Rolle Kunstsammler haben, gehörte ebenso zum Themenspektrum wie die Bewertung kommerzieller Galerievertretungen oder der Stellenwert Berlins im Bereich des Limited Edition Designs: Themen also, von denen auch die zahlreich anwesenden Mitglieder des Meisterrates profitieren konnten. Denn auch sie stehen als kreativ-gestaltende Kulturakteure oftmals mit Galeristen, Ausstellern und Sammlern in Kontakt. Diskussionsergebnisse und der persönliche Austausch untereinander konnten intensiv dazu beitragen, dass Mitglieder und Teilnehmer ihre Zugehörigkeit und Positionierung auf dem Design- oder Kunstmarkt hinterfragten.

 

 

All Photo Credits by Kaska Jankiewicz https://kaskajankiewicz.com