Meisterrat again in Paris

In December 2019, the French counterpart of the Meisterrat, the French Craft Council “Les Maîtres d’Art”, celebrated its anniversary: for 25 years, our partner organisation has represented French craftsmen. On the occasion of this anniversary, a ceremony of several days took place at Place St. Germain under the patronage of President Emmanuel Macron. Representatives of the Les Maîtres d’Art and the Masters’ Council developed a varied anniversary program for this event, which was held from December 12 to 15. The event was sponsored by the French Ministry of Culture.

Meisterrat closest partner

With panel discussions, exhibitions and presentations by individual craftsmen, the event also functioned as a German-French network meeting of the creative trades. Katja Kleiss and Pascal Johanssen introduced the German scene of craftsmen and manufacturers to the guests from French politics, including the Secretary of State for the Maitre d’Art Florent Kiefer, in order to lay the foundation for further cooperation projects. Discussions already began in 2018 in order to better assess the German and French conditions of the arts and crafts scene.

Concerts on handcrafted musical instruments rounded off the cultural framework of the event. Like the Meisterrat, the Les Maîtres d’Art also serves as a platform for supporting and networking designers, artisans and manufacturers. In addition to numerous French craftsmen, various German manufacturers were also presented. A further highlight of the event was the presentation of a medal of honour to the Meisterrat for outstanding German-French cooperation in the field of applied arts.

Lectures and the participation of the Meisterrat in exhibitions gave the German artists international visibility. Together with Natalya Cholet (French Chamber of Commerce and Industry CCI Paris Ile-de-France), it was ensured that the exhibition concept achieved a decisive political and economic impact. The German exhibition was opened by a lively greeting from the German Ambassador in Paris, Mr. Nikolas Meyer-Landrut.

Paris was affected by a massive strike of the public services, including all means of transport, during the December weeks. Despite these adverse circumstances, it seems that many visitors fought their way to the exhibition and the ceremonial acts to the Place St. Germain.

Meisterrat erneut in Paris

Im Dezember 2019 feierte das französische Pendant zum Meisterrat, das französische Craft Council „Les Maîtres d’Art“, Jubiläum: seit 25 Jahren vertritt unsere Partnerorganisation die französischen Kunsthandwerker. Anlässlich dieses Geburtstages fand unter der Schirmherrschaft von Staatspräsident Emmanuel Macron ein mehrtägiger Festakt am Place St. Germain statt. Vertreter des Les Maîtres d’Art und des Meisterrat entwickelten hierfür ein vielfältiges Jubiläumsprogramm, das vom 12. bis 15. Dezember ausgetragen wurde. Träger der Veranstaltung war das französische Kulturministerium.

Meisterrat engster Partner

Mit Paneldiskussionen, Ausstellungen und Präsentationen von einzelnen Kunsthandwerkern fungierte die Veranstaltung zugleich als deutsch-französisches Netzwerktreffen des kreativen Handwerks. Katja Kleiss und Pascal Johanssen stellten den Gästen der französischen Politik, u.a. dem Staatssekretär für die Maitre d’Art Florent Kiefer, die deutsche Szene der Kunsthandwerker und Manufakturen vor, um den Grundstein für weitere Kooperationsprojekte zu legen. Im Jahr 2018 bereits begannen die Gespräche, um die deutsche und französischen Bedingungen der Szene der kunsthandwerklich tätigen Unternehmen und Personen besser einschätzen zu können.

Konzerte auf handwerklich gefertigten Musikinstrumenten rundeten den kulturellen Rahmen des Events ab. Wie der Meisterrat auch, dient der Les Maîtres d’Art als Plattform, um Designer, Kunsthanderker und Manufakturen zu unterstützen und zu vernetzen. So wurden neben zahlreichen französischen Kunsthandwerkern auch diverse deutsche Manufakturen vorgestellt. Einen weiteren Höhepunkt der Veranstaltung stellte die Überreichung einer Ehrenmedaille für den Meisterrat für die hervorragende deutsch-französische Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der angewandten Künste dar.

Vorträge und die Ausstellungsbeteiligung des Meisterrates schenkten den deutschen Akteuren internationale Sichtbarkeit. Gemeinsam mit Natalya Cholet (französische Industrie- und Handelskammer CCI Paris Ile-de-France) wurde sichergestellt, dass das Ausstellungskonzept eine entscheidende politische und wirtschaftliche Strahlkraft erreicht. Die deutsche Ausstellung wurde eröffnet durch ein schwungvolles Grusswort des deutschen Botschafters in Paris, Herrn Nikolas Meyer-Landrut.

Paris wurde in den Dezemberwochen von einem massiven Streik der öffentlichen Dienste, u.a. aller Verkehrsmittel, betroffen. Trotz dieser widrigen Umstände kämpften sich offenbar zahlreiche Besucher bis zur Ausstellung und den Festakten bis zum Place St. Germain vor.