Deutsche Manufakturenstraße

Deutsche Manufakturenstraße, a route through Germany

Deutsche Manu­fak­turen­straße is the cultural-histor­ical infra­struc­ture project of the Master Council. The manu­fac­tory route was estab­lished in 2017 as a living archive of German manu­fac­to­ries and has been expanded since then. At the same time, it is also a tourist holiday route project on the level of the federal states, combining towns, manu­fac­to­ries and craftsmen with cultural tourism offers.

Whinery Mueller–Catoir, Pfalz

In the regions

Manu­fak­turen­straße is an almost 2500 km long adven­ture road, which leads along four routes to the most impor­tant manu­fac­to­ries in Germany. The routes stretch from the Baltic Sea to Lake Constance and touch all 16 federal states.

A “connecting bond” of the manu­fac­to­ries through Germany has not existed until now. Manu­fac­to­ries in Germany, their activ­i­ties and their role in the region have so far received too little atten­tion. The things that surround us are impor­tant. Today we suffer not from a lack, but from too much. In this respect, the choice of what surrounds us is consti­tu­tive.

As a counter-model to the uniform, above all effi­cient produc­tion method of indus­trial mass produc­tion, manu­fac­to­ries do not produce for the throw­away society, but for the “small batch”. Special prod­ucts of excep­tional quality. Careful crafts­man­ship that is diffi­cult to copy and can hardly be produced in large series at a compa­rable level. These high-quality prod­ucts are not luxury in the sense of wasteful opulence. Rather, their value and beauty should be under­stood as a natural alter­na­tive to mass produc­tion. They enrich our lives in which their use goes beyond their imme­diate func­tion.

 

Artesic Water from Bran­den­burg: Minus 181

Deutsche Manu­fak­turen­straße is both a defi­nite tourist offer for visi­tors and a network for the manu­fac­to­ries them­selves. As a touristic sight, there is the possi­bility to discover selected manu­fac­to­ries in Germany either in guided groups or inde­pen­dently with the help of apps, maps and brochures or via the online portal. This makes German manu­fac­to­ries, their work and their signif­i­cance in the region visible. The aim is to open up to society. Deutsche Manu­fak­turen­straße organ­ises various exhi­bi­tions, markets and other events to bring producers, dealers and consumers into contact with each other.

Doktorenhof, Photo: Marcus Scheuer­mann

The Deutsche Manu­fak­turen­straße is an archival initia­tive that works to ensure that manu­fac­to­ries in Germany are recog­nised, protected and promoted as impor­tant imma­te­rial cultural assets. The prod­ucts of manu­fac­to­ries are the result of human knowl­edge and skill, are an expres­sion of inven­tive­ness and tradi­tional crafts­man­ship. They are often region­ally rooted and shaped. They convey iden­tity.

Custom Shoes at Vick­er­mann & Stola, Baden-Baden

The knowl­edge of manu­fac­tory produc­tion is passed on from gener­a­tion to gener­a­tion and contin­u­ally redesigned. This type of region­ally rooted tradi­tion lines, which have been culti­vated and further devel­oped for a long time, can be found throughout Germany in the most diverse areas.

Furni­ture Produc­tion at Thonet

Deutsche Manu­fak­turen­straße was founded in order to preserve the cultural expres­sions of the manu­fac­tory system existing in Germany. It connects all the impor­tant manu­fac­to­ries along an adven­ture route to form a lively network.

More Information
Contact Person at Meisterrat:
Katja Kleiss
kleiss@meisterrat.com
Website
www.deutsche-manufakturenstrasse.de

Weitere Projekte

Manufactory Day

The German Craft Council regu­larly holds annual general meet­ings, at which lectures and discus­sions on upcoming issues are on the agenda. In addi­tion to the annual meet­ings, smaller events are held to provide special infor­ma­tion.

Direktorenhaus

Since 2010, Direk­toren­haus in Berlin offers a link between applied art, design and contem­po­rary art. The exhi­bi­tion space  has its own collec­tion as well as changing exhi­bi­tions. The exhi­bi­tions focus on the notice­ably increased impor­tance of design and aesthetics in contem­po­rary life. It’s programme revolves around current design phenomena and delib­er­ately includes the border areas

Handmade in Germany Worldtour

With the exhi­bi­tion curated by the Direk­toren­h­jaus, the myth of German quality work has been trav­el­ling since 2014. The concen­trated collec­tion of contem­po­rary quality produc­tion from Germany shows master­pieces by German manu­fac­to­ries, craftsmen and designers, precious objects and cultural assets hand­crafted in Germany. Masterpieces Germany has numerous outstanding manu­fac­to­ries that produce at the highest level.

Design Forum

A Forum for Design In the heart of Berlin, a future labo­ra­tory can be created — a place for design, inno­va­tion, art, crafts­man­ship and ecology. The vision is to create a place for sensual expe­ri­ence and aesthetic educa­tion, espe­cially in our “de-sensu­al­ized” world, which is becoming ever faster, more abstract and more digital. Inside the

Deutsche Manufakturenstraße

Deutsche Manufakturenstraße

Die Deutsche Manufakturenstraße ist das kulturhistorische Infrastrukturprojekt des Meisterrates. Die Deutsche Manufakturenstraße wurde 2017 als lebendiges Archiv der deutschen Manufakturen angelegt und wird seitdem weiter ausgebaut. Zugleich ist es auch auf der Ebene der Bundesländer ein touristisches Ferienstraßenprojekt, das Orte, Manufakturen und Kunsthandwerker mit kulturtouristischen Angeboten verbindet.

Weingut Mueller–Catoir, Pfalz

In den Regionen

Die Manufakturenstraße ist eine fast 2500 km lange Erlebnisstraße, die an vier Routen entlang zu den wichtigsten Manufakturen Deutschlands führt. Die Routen erstrecken sich von der Ostsee bis zum Bodensee und berühren dabei alle 16 Bundesländer.

Ein „verbindendes Band“ der Manufakturen durch Deutschland gab es bislang nicht. Manufakturen in Deutschland, ihr Wirken und ihre Rolle in der Region sind bislang zu wenig beachtet worden. Dabei sind die Dinge, die uns umgeben, von Bedeutung. Wir leiden heute nicht an einem Mangel, sondern an einem Zuviel. Insofern ist die Auswahl dessen, was uns umgibt, konstituierend.

Als Gegenmodell zur uniformen, vor allem effizienten Herstellungsweise der industriellen Massenproduktion produzieren Manufakturen nicht für die Wegwerfgesellschaft, sondern für „die kleine Charge“. Besondere Produkte von außergewöhnlicher Qualität. Sorgfältiges Handwerk, das schwer kopierbar ist und kaum auf vergleichbarem Niveau in großen Serien hergestellt werden kann. Diese hochwertigen Produkte sind nicht Luxus im Sinne verschwenderischer Opulenz. Sie sind vielmehr in ihrer Wertigkeit und Schönheit als natürliche Alternative zur Massenproduktion zu begreifen. Sie bereichern unser Leben, in dem ihr Nutzen über die unmittelbare Gebrauchsfunktion hinausgeht.

Artesisches Wasser aus Brandenburg: Minus 181

Die Deutsche Manufakturenstraße ist sowohl ein konkretes touristisches Angebot für Besucher als auch ein Netzwerk für die Manufakturen selbst. Als touristisches Angebot gibt es die Möglichkeit entweder in geführten Gruppen oder selbstständig mithilfe von Apps, Karten und Broschüren oder mittels des Online-Portals ausgesuchte Manufakturen in Deutschland zu entdecken. Damit werden deutsche Manufakturen, ihr Wirken und ihre Bedeutung in der Region sichtbar gemacht. Ziel ist eine Öffnung gegenüber der Gesellschaft. Um Produzenten, Händler und Verbraucher miteinander in Kontakt zu bringen, organisiert die Deutsche Manufakturenstraße verschiedene Ausstellungen, Märkte und andere Veranstaltungen.

Doktorenhof, Fotografie: Marcus Scheuermann

Die Deutsche Manufakturenstraße ist eine archivalische Initiative, die sich dafür einsetzt, dass die Manufakturen in Deutschland als Träger von wichtigen immateriellen Kulturgütern als solche erkannt, geschützt und gefördert werden. Die Produkte von Manufakturen sind durch menschliches Wissen und Können entstanden, sind Ausdruck von Erfindergeist und traditionellem Handwerk. Sie sind oft regional verwurzelt und geprägt. Sie vermitteln Identität.

Maßschuhe bei Vickermann & Stola, Baden-Baden

Das Wissen der Manufakturproduktion wird von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben und fortwährend neu gestaltet. Diese Art von regional verwurzelten Traditionslinien, die seit langem gepflegt und weiterentwickelt werden, finden sich in ganz Deutschland in unterschiedlichsten Bereichen.

Bugholzmöbelproduktion bei Thonet

Damit die in Deutschland vorhandenen kulturellen Ausdrucksformen des Manufakturwesens erhalten bleiben, ist die Deutsche Manufakturenstraße ins Leben gerufen worden. Sie verbindet alle wichtigen Manufakturen entlang einer Erlebnisstraße zu einem lebendigem Netzwerk.

Mehr Informationen
Ansprechpartner bei Meisterrat:
Katja Kleiss
kleiss@meisterrat.com
Webseite des Projektes
www.deutsche-manufakturenstrasse.de

Weitere Projekte

Manufakturentag

Der Meisterrat führt regelmäßig jährliche Mitgliederversammlungen durch, auf denen Vorträge und Diskussionen über anstehende Fragen auf der Tagesordnung stehen. Zusätzlich zu den Jahresversammlungen finden kleinere Veranstaltungen statt, die der fachlichen Information dienen.

Designforum

Designforum Im Herzen Berlins kann ein Zukunftslabor entstehen – ein Ort für Design, Innovation, Kunst, Handwerk und Ökologie. Die Vision ist es, gerade in unserer „entsinnlichten” Welt, die immer schneller, abstrakter und digitaler wird, einen Ort für sinnliches Erleben und ästhetische Bildung zu schaffen. Im Designforum könnte die junge kreative Design- und Kunstszene zusammenkommen, um

Direktorenhaus

Das Direktorenhaus in Berlin bietet seit 2010 eine Verbindung zwischen angewandter Kunst, Design und Gegenwartskunst. Das Ausstellungshaus zeigt eine eigene Sammlung neben wechselnden Ausstellungen. Im Zentrum der Ausstellungen steht die spürbar gestiegene Bedeutung von Design und Ästhetik im heutigen Leben. So kreist das Programm um aktuelle Phänomene des Designs und bezieht bewusst die Grenzgebiete zu

Handmade in Germany Worldtour

Mit der vom Direktorenhaus kuratierten Ausstellung geht seit 2014 der Mythos der deutschen Qualitätsarbeit auf Reisen. Die konzentrierte Sammlung der zeitgenössischen Qualitätsproduktion aus Deutschland zeigt Meisterwerke von deutschen Manufakturen, Kunsthandwerkern und Designern, kostbare Dinge und Kulturgüter, die in Deutschland von Hand gefertigt werden. Meisterstücke Deutschland besitzt zahlreiche herausragende Manufakturen, die auf höchstem Niveau produzieren. Der