How to finance manufactories?

Many manu­fac­to­ries in Germany are wondering whether they should better finance them­selves with equity or debt money. However, this ques­tion cannot be answered unequiv­o­cally because both financing options have advan­tages and disad­van­tages and depend on the finan­cial struc­ture of the company.

The financing struc­ture of an enter­prise becomes partic­u­larly rele­vant in the course of granting loans and ratings, since among other things the equity ratio and the debt-equity ratio flow as a quan­ti­ta­tive indi­cator into the clas­si­fi­ca­tion of the cred­it­wor­thi­ness. Banks used quan­ti­ta­tive and qual­i­ta­tive factors to assess the future viability of the company. Key balance sheet figures, such as the equity ratio, are included as quan­ti­ta­tive factors, while market devel­op­ments, account manage­ment, company manage­ment, etc. have an effect on the rating grade as qual­i­ta­tive criteria.

On average, German medium-sized manu­fac­to­ries have an equity ratio of 28.6 %. This figure is just below the general assump­tion that German compa­nies finance them­selves with almost 1/3 equity and 2/3 debt. In the course of invest­ment financing, approx. 52% equity, 30% bank loans, 12% subsi­dies and 6% other (equity and mezza­nine capital) are used.

 

Equity- and debt capital

The fact that the share of equity capital is around 1/3, but that approx. 52% of the invest­ment sum is financed by equity capital, raises the ques­tion of whether equity capital and the more favourable form of financing are involved or whether it has become increas­ingly diffi­cult to obtain bank loans.

In 2018, the share of successful credit nego­ti­a­tions fell by 10 percentage points to 57%. This suggests that banks may have become more restric­tive in lending and conse­quently fewer compa­nies are lending. Nego­ti­a­tions between compa­nies and banks are partly based on rating grades and thus also on key figures such as the equity ratio. If, for example, the equity ratio is too low, banks some­times refuse loans because the default risk is too high or demand a higher lending rate. For entre­pre­neurs, this raises the ques­tion of whether to exploit leverage effects or opti­mise ratings.

 

Diagram: Weighting of finan­cial Struc­tures

The leverage effect refers to the possi­bility that the return on equity will increase if more debt capital is used instead of equity capital. At the same time, the reduc­tion in equity results in a lower equity ratio and a higher debt ratio while debt capital remains unchanged. A higher debt ratio can have a serious impact on the rating and thus on the lending rate, as banks take into account the finan­cial struc­ture of a company, among other things.

It is there­fore impor­tant for entre­pre­neurs to weigh up whether the improve­ment in return on equity or the increase in interest rates for debt capital is more impor­tant. Since in most compa­nies the lever­aged portion of the capital is greater than the self-financed portion, it is in the interest of the entre­pre­neur to keep the loan interest rate as low as possible with increasing leverage. This is possible thanks to an improved equity ratio.

The posi­tive effect of a high equity ratio on the rating grade can be gener­ated by several direct and indi­rect measures to increase the equity ratio and thus opti­mize the rating.

Reducing the balance sheet total, for example by reducing inven­to­ries or using factoring with unchanged equity, indi­rectly improves the equity ratio. It should be noted, however, that these measures should make economic sense and should not be aimed solely at manip­u­lating the equity ratio.

 

Graph: Weighting of finan­cial Struc­ture

Direct measures to strengthen the equity ratio include profit reten­tion, a with­drawal and distri­b­u­tion freeze, further capital contri­bu­tions by share­holders, and differ­en­ti­ated partic­i­pa­tion systems. It should be noted that the entre­pre­neur should care­fully consider whether an opti­miza­tion of the rating grade or the return on equity is advan­ta­geous for him.

Since March 2019, the Master Council has set up a working group to work on the opti­mi­sa­tion of financing struc­tures specif­i­cally for manu­fac­to­ries in order to combine measures for various manu­fac­tory clus­ters.

More Information
Contact Person at Meisterrat:
Dr. Boris Karcher
karcher@meisterrat.de

Wie Manufakturen finanzieren?

Viele Manu­fak­turen in Deutsch­land stellen sich die Frage, ob sie sich besser mit Eigen- oder mit Fremd­ka­pital finan­zieren sollen. Jedoch lässt sich diese Frage nicht eindeutig beant­worten, da beide Finan­zie­rungs­mög­lich­keiten Vor- und Nach­teile haben und von der Finanz­struktur des Unter­neh­mens abhängen.

Beson­ders rele­vant wird die Finan­zie­rungs­struktur eines Unter­neh­mens im Zuge von Kredit­ver­gaben und Ratings, da u.a. die Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote und der Verschul­dungs­grad als quan­ti­ta­tive Kenn­zahl in die Einstu­fung der Bonität einfließen. Banken bewer­teten in Zuge des Ratings die Zukunfts­fä­hig­keit des Unter­neh­mens anhand von quan­ti­ta­tiven und quali­ta­tiven Faktoren. Bilanz­kenn­zahlen, wie die Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote, fließen als quan­ti­ta­tive Faktoren ein, während Markt­ent­wick­lungen, Konto­füh­rung, Unter­neh­mens­füh­rung etc. als quali­ta­tive Krite­rien auf die Rating­note einwirken.

Im Durch­schnitt weisen deut­sche mittel­stän­di­sche Manu­fak­turen eine Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote von 28.6 % auf. Dieser Wert liegt knapp unter der gene­rellen Annahme, dass deut­sche Unter­nehmen sich mit knapp 1/3 eigen- und mit 2/3 fremd­fi­nan­zieren. Im Zuge von Inves­ti­ti­ons­fi­nan­zie­rungen werden ca. 52% Eigen­ka­pital, 30% Bank­kre­dite, 12% Förder­mittel und 6% Sons­tige (Betei­li­gungs- und Mezza­nine-Kapital) verwendet.

Eigen- und Fremd­ka­pital

Die Tatsache, dass der Anteil des Eigen­ka­pi­tals bei rund 1/3 liegt, jedoch ca. 52% der Inves­ti­ti­ons­summe durch Eigen­mittel gestemmt werden, wirft die Frage auf, ob es sich bei Eigen­ka­pital und die güns­ti­gere Finan­zie­rungsart handelt oder ob es zuneh­mend schwere geworden ist Bank­kre­dite zu bekommen.

Im Jahr 2018 fiel der Anteil erfolg­reiche Kredit­ver­hand­lung um 10 Prozent­punkte auf 57%. Dies deutet an, dass Banken even­tuell restrik­tiver bei der Vergabe von Krediten wurden und folg­lich weniger Unter­nehmen Kredite gewähren. Verhand­lung zwischen Unter­nehmen und Banken beruhen teils auf Rating­noten und damit auch auf Kenn­zahlen wie der Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote. Fällt diese beispiels­weise zu gering aus, verwehren Banken teil­weise Kredite aufgrund eines zu hohen Ausfall­ri­sikos oder verlangen einen höheren Kredit­zins. Für Unter­nehmer stellt sich daher die Frage: Leverage-Effekte ausnutzen oder Rating opti­mieren?

Diagramm: Gewich­tung der Finan­zie­rungs­an­teile

Der Leverage-Effekt bezeichnet die Möglich­keit, dass die Eigen­ka­pi­tal­ren­ta­bi­lität steigt, wenn anstelle von Eigen­ka­pital vermehrt Fremd­ka­pital einge­setzt wird. Gleich­zeitig hat die Reduk­tion des Eigen­ka­pi­tals bei gleich­blei­bendem Fremd­ka­pital eine gerin­gere Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote und eine höhere Fremd­ka­pi­tal­quote zur Folge. Eine höhere Fremd­ka­pi­tal­quote kann einen schwer­wie­genden Einfluss auf die Rating­note und damit auf den Kredit­zins haben, da Banken unter anderem die Finanz­struktur eines Unter­neh­mens berück­sich­tigen.

Somit gilt es für Unter­nehmer abzu­wägen, ob die Verbes­se­rung der Eigen­ka­pi­tal­ren­ta­bi­lität oder die Erhö­hung der Zinsen für Fremd­ka­pital schwerer wiegt. Da in den meisten Unter­nehmen der fremd­fi­nan­zierte Anteil des Kapi­tals größer als der eigen­fi­nan­zierte Anteil ist, liegt es im Inter­esse des Unter­neh­mers, bei zuneh­mender Fremd­fi­nan­zie­rung den Kredit­zins möglichst gering zu halten. Die ist durch eine verbes­serte Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote möglich.

Der posi­tive Effekt einer hohen Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote auf die Rating­note, lässt sich durch mehrere direkte und indi­rekt Maßnahmen zur Erhö­hung der Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote und damit der Opti­mie­rung des Ratings erzeugen.

Die Reduk­tion der Bilanz­summe, durch etwa den Abbau von Beständen oder den Einsatz von Facto­ring, bei unver­än­dertem Eigen­ka­pital, verbes­sert die Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote indi­rekt. Zu beachten ist jedoch, dass diese Maßnahmen wirt­schaft­lich sinn­voll sein sollten und nicht ausschließ­lich den Zweck verfolgen sollten, die Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote zu mani­pu­lieren.

Graph: Gewich­tung der Finan­zie­rungs­an­teile

Direkte Maßnahmen zur Stär­kung der Eigen­ka­pi­tal­quote umfassen Gewinnthe­sau­rie­rung, ein Entnahme- und Ausschüt­tungs­stopp, weitere Kapi­tal­ein­lagen der Gesell­schafter, sowie diffe­ren­zierte Betei­li­gungs­sys­teme. Fest­zu­halten bleibt, dass der Unter­nehmer genau­es­tens abwägen sollte, ob für ihn eine Opti­mie­rung der Rating­note oder der Eigen­ka­pi­tal­ren­ta­bi­lität von Vorteil ist.

Der Meis­terrat hat seit März 2019 einen Arbeits­kreis aufge­baut, der die Opti­mie­rung von Finan­zie­rungs­struk­turen speziell für Manu­fak­turen aufar­beitet, um daraus Maßnahmen für verschie­dene Manu­fak­tu­ren­cluster zusam­men­zu­fassen.

Aktueller Termin
Workshop Finanzierung
17.6.2019
Direktorenhaus, Berlin
Mehr Informationen
Ansprechpartner bei Meisterrat:
Dr. Boris Karcher
karcher@meisterrat.de