We mourn for the loss of our artist Doris Bank

Doris Bank

25.03.1964 – 19.10.2019

 

An obit­uary by Ute Beck

Doris was buried today.

When I now think of her, the qual­i­ties of clarity, honesty, consis­tency and, in the end, atti­tude come to mind. And, in all this: modesty.

When looking at her ceramics, there are exactly the same qual­i­ties that appear in her works. Doris devoted herself to the pursuit of perfect beauty and aesthetics in her private and profes­sional (or I should say: ceramic) life. In this atti­tude she showed no compro­mises. She had chosen a path that was stony, exhausting. She was seldom satis­fied with herself, seldom resting.

I remember our common trade fair presen­ta­tions. She drove up in her white 240 Volvo station wagon. White boxes piled up in the Volvo, the exhi­bi­tion stand was planned down to the last detail, the inscrip­tion was perfect, the price list printed, the lighting set before­hand. The pack­aging mate­rial was prepared in various sizes from high-quality paper...

At the begin­ning of the fair, the hair­style was perfect, the clothes were well thought-out and matched with the colours of the ceramics. Basi­cally a poem. She was a living poem.

I admired her for it, because I was stuck in traffic, had used some boxes lying around at home, hadn’t even thought about prices at that time. At the begin­ning of the fair I knew what I had forgotten.

Often I found it some­what obses­sive, this perfec­tion. That was the reason for me to make loving jokes. Today I know that not only the perfec­tion was impor­tant — it was more a basic atti­tude to life.

Her home, her small half-timbered house in Miltenberg, was also part of the factory. Every­thing was in harmony, wonder­fully combined, her little garden was a little paradise. Here, too, there was no room for coin­ci­dence. She did a lot of sports, went swim­ming every day.

At a certain point she told me that she was ill. She also carried her disease with great strength and posture until the end. The way was marked with a sharp, cheeky, merci­less humor. She could also laugh about herself.

Humor and atti­tude. That has become so rare. I think we have lost an artist and colleague who has exem­pli­fied some­thing rare and precious today.

Doris has left us wonderful ceramics in which her char­acter is visible. This way she will be remem­bered.

Wir trauern um unsere Künstlerin Doris Bank

Doris Bank

25.03.1964 – 19.10.2019

 

Ein Nachruf von Ute Beck

Heute ist die Doris beerdigt worden.

Wenn ich nun an sie denke, kommen mir die Eigenschaften Klarheit, Ehrlichkeit, Konsequenz und am Ende Haltung in den Sinn. Und, bei alledem: Bescheidenheit.

Beim Betrachten Ihrer Keramik sind es exakt die selben Eigenschaften, die in ihren Arbeiten widerscheinen. Doris widmete sich im privaten wie im beruflichen (oder sollte man sagen: keramischen) Leben dem Streben nach perfekter Schönheit, nach Ästhetik. In dieser Haltung zeigte sie keine Kompromisse. Sie hatte sich auf einen Weg begeben, der steinig war, aufreibend. Sie war selten mit sich zufrieden, selten rastend.

Ich erinnere mich an unsere gemeinsamen Messeauftritte. Sie fuhr mit ihrem weißen 240 Volvo Kombi vor. Im Volvo stapelten sich weisse Kisten, der Messestand war bis ins Detail geplant, die Beschriftung perfekt, die Preisliste gedruckt, die Beleuchtung vorher austariert. Das Verpackungsmaterial in verschiedenen Größen aus wertvollen Papieren vorbereitet…

Zum Messebeginn saß die Frisur perfekt, die Kleidung war durchdacht und mit den Farben der Keramik abgestimmt. Im Grunde ein Gedicht. Sie war ein lebendes Gedicht.

Ich habe sie dafür bewundert, denn ich stand im Stau, hatte irgendwelche Kisten, die zuhause rumlagen, verwendet., über Preise zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht einmal nachgedacht. Bei Beginn der Messe wußte ich, an was ich alles nicht gedacht hatte.

Diese Perfektion war oft Anlass für mich für liebevolle Späßchen, was man eben so macht. Heute weiß ich, dass ihr Perfektion nicht wichtig war: Es ging um eine Grundhaltung zum Leben.

Auch Ihr Zuhause, ihr kleines Fachwerkhaus in Miltenberg, war Bestandteil vom Werk. Alles stimmig, wunderbar zusammengesucht, ihr kleiner Garten war ein kleines Paradies. Auch hier war kein Platz für Zufall. Sie trieb viel Sport, ging täglich schwimmen.

Ab einen bestimmten Punkt sagte sie mir, dass sie krank war. Ihre Krankheit trug sie ebenfalls mit großer Stärke und Haltung, bis zum Schluss. Gespickt war der Weg mit einem scharfen, frechen, gnadenlosen Humor. Sie konnte auch über sich selber lachen.

Humor und Haltung. Das ist so rar geworden. Ich denke, wir haben eine Künstlerin und Kollegin verloren, die etwas heute Seltenes und Kostbares vorgelebt hat.

 

Doris hat uns wunderbare Keramik hinterlassen, in der ihre Wesenszüge aufscheinen, die so in Erinnerung bleiben.