Armoury Fair: Looking ahead!

Sigrid Kohn spent a whole year preparing the Zeughaus-Messe — and on top of that she had to temporarily change the traditional venue — the Zeughaus. Then came the second lock-down, which ruined the staging of the atmospheric arts and crafts fair in the capital. How do you deal with that?

What went through your mind when that was certain?

It can’t be true! The day before the cancellation, I was still enthusiastically posting on Instagram that the latest news from the Berlin Senate was good: events for up to 800 people are possible if a hygiene concept is presented. Well, that was completely different one day later when the prime ministers met.

What would we have seen this year?

The Zeughaushof is extremely popular with exhibitors and visitors due to its special beautiful appearance. The courtyard is our unique selling point. No other trade fair has it so beautifully. We were looking forward to the cold store, because as a transitional location it is very exciting. It is not a smoothly renovated building and brings with it a very unique charm of clarity and history. The aura of the fair would have been quite different, also special. We again had a very good selection of excellent artists.

Is the cold store suitable for the fair?

The big advantage of the cold store is that we have more space than in the Zeughaus. We wanted to use that to open up the spectrum. We had two exhibitions in the planning stage: Haus Brandenburg and the Faculty of Design of the HAWK Hildesheim. The Haus Brandenburg initiative arose from a student project at the Potsdam University of Applied Sciences. It brings together crafts and design for the development of new regional and sustainable products. The special exhibition would have shown prototypes of furniture and furnishings. In the special exhibition, the Faculty of Design of the HAWK in Hildesheim wanted to present works from the competence fields of advertising design, branding design, digital environments, colour design, graphic design, interior design, lighting design, metal design and product design.

Exhibition planning under pandemic conditions: What is the future of the Zeughaus trade fair?

The Zeughaus fair is a juried sales exhibition. All participants who were juried for 2020 are admitted to 2021 after registering. This is important for the artists. This year, two weeks before the fair, they had produced everything they wanted to sell. They must have this opportunity in 2021. So all that remains are places that are not taken. We cannot see how many of them there are. But it’s always worth applying.

Is there already a new date for 2021?

We don’t have a new date for 2021 yet, but we’re looking for one in January. Maybe it will be in September to avoid the situation we have now for 2021. At the moment we are still in the process of applying for the Corona grants, which will hopefully relieve the burden on many exhibitors who have to pay a proportion of the stand fees and have not made any sales.

 

We are looking forward to this. Thank you for your commitment and perseverance during this time.

(The interview was conducted by Pascal Johanssen)

Zeughaus-Messe: Nach vorn geschaut!

Sigrid Kohn hat ein ganzes Jahr die Zeug­haus-Messe vorbe­reitet – und noch dazu musste sie den ange­stammten Ort – das Zeug­haus – vorüber­ge­hend wech­seln. Dann kam der zweite Lock-Down, der die Durch­füh­rung der stim­mungs­vollen Kunst­hand­werks­messe in der Haupt­stadt zunichte machte. Wie geht man damit um?

Was schoß Dir durch den Kopf, als das fest­stand?

Das kann nicht wahr sein! Am Tag vor der Absage habe ich noch begeis­tert auf Insta­gram gepostet, dass die aktu­elle Meldung des Berliner Senats gut ist: Veran­stal­tungen bis 800 Personen sind bei Vorlage eines Hygi­e­nekon­zepts möglich. Tja, das war dann einen Tag später, als die Ministerpräsident*innen getagt haben, komplett anders.

Was hätten wir dieses Jahr gesehen?

Der Zeug­haushof ist mit seiner speziell schönen Ausstrah­lung bei den Ausstel­lern und Besu­chern extrem beliebt. Der Hof ist unser Allein­stel­lungs­merkmal. So schön hat es keine Messe sonst. Wir haben uns auf das Kühl­haus gefreut, denn als Über­gangsort ist es sehr span­nend. Es ist kein glatt­sa­niertes Gebäude und bringt einen sehr eigenen Charme aus Klar­heit und Geschichte mit. Die Ausstrah­lung der Messe wäre eine ganz andere, auch beson­dere gewesen. Wir hatten wieder eine sehr gute Auswahl exzel­lenter Künst­le­rInnen.

Eignet sich das Kühl­haus für die Messe?

Der große Vorteil im Kühl­haus ist, dass wir mehr Platz haben als im Zeug­haus. Das wollten wir nutzen, um das Spek­trum zu öffnen. Wir hatten zwei Ausstel­lungen in der Planung: Haus Bran­den­burg und die Fakultät Gestal­tung der HAWK Hildes­heim. Die Initia­tive Haus Bran­den­burg ist aus einem studen­ti­schen Projekt der Fach­hoch­schule Potsdam entstanden. Sie bringt Hand­werk und Design für die Entwick­lung neuer regio­naler und nach­hal­tiger Produkte zusammen. Die Sonder­aus­stel­lung hätte Proto­typen von Möbeln und Einrich­tungs­ge­gen­ständen gezeigt. Die Fakultät Gestal­tung der HAWK in Hildes­heim wollte in der Sonder­aus­stel­lung Arbeiten aus den Kompe­tenz­fel­dern Adver­ti­sing Design, Bran­ding Design, Digital Envi­ron­ments, Farb­de­sign, Grafik­de­sign, Innen­ar­chi­tektur, Ligh­ting Design, Metall­ge­stal­tung und Produkt­de­sign präsen­tieren.

Messe­pla­nung unter Pandemie-Bedin­gungen: Wie geht es weiter mit der Zeug­haus-Messe?

Die Zeug­haus­messe ist eine jurierte Verkaufs­aus­stel­lung. Alle Teil­nehmer, die für 2020 juriert waren, sind nach einer Anmel­dung für 2021 zuge­lassen. Das ist wichtig für die Künstler. Sie hatten dieses Jahr, zwei Wochen vor der Messe, alles produ­ziert, was sie verkaufen wollten. Diese Gele­gen­heit müssen sie 2021 haben. Es bleiben also nur Plätze, die nicht wahr­ge­nommen werden. Wieviele das sind, können wir nicht sehen. Bewerben lohnt sich aber immer.

Gibt es schon einen neuen Termin für 2021?

Wir haben auch noch keinen Termin für 2021. Den suchen wir im Januar. Viel­leicht wird es schon im September sein, um die Situa­tion, die wir jetzt haben, für 2021 sicher zu vermeiden. Zurzeit sind wir immer noch damit beschäf­tigt die Corona-Zuschüsse zu bean­tragen, die hoffent­lich viele Aussteller, die die Stand­gelder anteilig zu bezahlen haben und dazu keinen Umsatz gemacht haben, entlasten werden.

 

Wir freuen uns darauf. Danke für das Enga­ge­ment und Durch­halten in dieser Zeit.

(Das Gespräch führte Pascal Johanssen.)