Felicia Mülbaier wins Justus Brinckmann Award 2019

Our artist Felicia Mülbaier, whose works can also be currently seen in the Direk­toren­haus, is the new winner of the Justus Brinkmann Award!

Until 1 December 2019, the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg (MKG) and the Justus Brinck­mann Gesellschaft are once again inviting to the MKG Art and Crafts Fair. The Justus Brinck­mann Prize, endowed with 7,500 euros and awarded during the fair, went to our artist Felicia Mülbaier. We are happy with her and congrat­u­late!

 

The Justus Brinck­mann Prize, which is awarded each year at the Kunst und Handwerk trade fair, is aimed at promoting outstanding contem­po­rary design and hand­i­crafts that keep old tech­niques alive and at the same time provide impulses for new tradi­tions. Widely perceived, this award is consid­ered one of the most renowned for creative crafts­man­ship in Germany. Within the frame­work of the MKG, the main prize, endowed with € 7,500, and the promo­tional prize, endowed with € 2,500, are awarded in addi­tion to the main prize. The candi­dates will be nomi­nated sepa­rately by the trade fair jury.

 

This year’s winners were announced at the opening cere­mony on 21 November 2019. The Justus Brinck­mann Prize, endowed with 7,500 euros, goes to Felicia Mülbaier from Idar-Ober­stein, the epicentre of gemstone art. She goes beyond the conven­tional bound­aries of her profes­sion and moves in an exciting ambiva­lence between the archaic and the forward-looking, according to the jury. Areen Hassan (*1994) will receive the Justus Brinck­mann Award, endowed with 2,500 euros. “She convinced the jury with her cultural and craft concept,” says Caro­line Schröder, Director of the Modern Collec­tion at the MKG and curator of the MKG trade fair. In her handling of cultural patterns, the textile designer combines the highest crafts­man­ship and reacts to the complex situ­a­tion in which she lives as a Pales­tinian in Nazareth, Israel.

 

In an active confronta­tion with the increas­ingly blurred bound­aries between art, crafts and design, three expert panel discus­sions will take place on 24 November 2019 from 3 p.m. onwards. In the “Design Talks”, MKG Director Tulga Beyerle will discuss simi­lar­i­ties and differ­ences between the indi­vidual disci­plines with Marie Filippa Janssen, Hendrike Faren­holtz and Philipp Weber. Each of the creative and hand­crafted discus­sion part­ners comes from a different starting point; all three are united by their love of hand­made prod­ucts.

Felicia Mülbaier in Direk­toren­haus: www.direktorenhaus.com/en/artist/felicia-muelbaier

Felicia Mülbaier gewinnt Justus Brinckmann Preis 2019

Unsere Künstlerin Felicia Mülbaier, deren Arbeiten auch gerade im Direktorenhaus zu sehen sind, ist die neue Preisträgerin des Justus Brinkmann Preises!

Noch bis zum 1. Dezember 2019 laden das Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg (MKG) und die Justus Brinckmann Gesellschaft wieder zur MKG Messe Kunst und Handwerk ein. Der mit 7.500 Euro dotierte Justus Brinckmann Preis, der während der Messe verliehen wird, ging an unsere Künstlerin Felicia Mülbaier. Wir freuen uns mit ihr und gratulieren!

 

 

Herausragendes zeitgenössisches Design und Kunsthandwerk zu fördern, das alte Techniken lebendig hält und gleichzeitig Impulsgeber für neue Traditionen ist, dies ist das Anliegen des jährlich anlässlich der Messe Kunst und Handwerk verliehenen Justus Brinckmann Preises. Weithin wahrgenommen gilt diese Auszeichnung als eine der renommiertesten für das gestaltende Handwerk in Deutschland. Im Rahmen der MKG-Messe Kunst und Handwerk wird neben dem Hauptpreis, dotiert mit € 7.500,-, der mit € 2.500,- dotierte Förderpreis vergeben. Die Kandidaten dafür werden gesondert von der Messe-Jury vorgeschlagen.

Im Rahmen der Eröffnung am 21. November 2019 wurden die diesjährigen Preisträgerinnen bekanntgegeben. Der mit 7.500 Euro dotierte Justus Brinckmann Preis geht an Felicia Mülbaier aus Idar-Oberstein, dem Epizentrum der Edelsteinkunst. Sie sprenge die konventionellen Grenzen ihres Metiers und bewege sich in einer spannenden Ambivalenz zwischen Archaischem und Zukunftsweisendem, so die Begründung der Jury. Den mit 2.500 Euro dotierten Justus Brinckmann Förderpreis erhält Areen Hassan (*1994). „Sie überzeugte die Jury mit ihrem kulturellen und kunsthandwerklichen Konzept“, so Caroline Schröder, Leiterin der Sammlung Moderne am MKG und Kuratorin der MKG Messe. In ihrem Umgang mit kulturellen Mustern vereine die Textildesignerin höchste Handwerklichkeit und reagiere auf die komplexe Situation, in der sie als Palästinenserin in Nazareth, Israel, lebt.

In aktiver Auseinandersetzung mit den zunehmend verschwimmenden Grenzen von Kunst, Kunsthandwerk und Design finden am 24. November 2019 ab 15 Uhr drei Expert*innengespräche statt. In den „Design-Talks“ diskutiert MKG-Direktorin Tulga Beyerle mit Marie Filippa Janssen, Hendrike Farenholtz und Philipp Weber Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede der einzelnen Disziplinen. Jede*r der kreativ und handwerklich schaffenden Gesprächspartner*innen kommt von einem anderen Ausgangspunkt, alle drei vereint die Liebe zum handgefertigten Produkt.

 

Felicia Mülbaier im Direktorenhaus: www.direktorenhaus.com/en/artist/felicia-muelbaier