Design Forum Berlin

Blick auf das Münze-Oktogon, Entwurf von Axel Binder

The German Craft Council is pursuing the project of establishing a design forum in the centre of Berlin. The Design Forum aims to bring contemporary trends in handicraft, especially critical and conceptual design, closer to a wider public. In addition, these trends and developments are to be combined with existing concrete approaches to production and consumption: i.e. with manufacturing companies, manufactories and studios.

The Design Forum in Berlin

One is surprised that there is no central place for contemporary design in Germany. A central museum or a design area like in Vienna, Paris or London. This is all the more surprising since Germany has a long tradition in design, from artisan movements such as Art Nouveau and the Werkbund to the Bauhaus and the Ulm School, which successfully inspired the world of design worldwide.

Site Plans of the Design Forum

In public perception, questions of design after the war were pushed to the sidelines in Germany, and only in this way can it be explained that neither in the German capital nor in the rest of Germany is there a really concentrated point at which current trends in design are presented. In view of the social significance of design, this cannot remain so in the long term.

An earlier design by Julie Biron using Alte Münze as an example: No increase in height, but a partial covering of the minting hall

The Designforum brings together the areas of “artistic craftsmanship” and “design” in one place. For some time now, both disciplines have been concerned with comprehensive tasks and are shifting the focus away, from the spatial object itself, towards the ideas and life models behind the form. The social design movement takes on the legacy of Bauhaus and Werkbund by dealing with holistic concepts that include all areas of life. Design thinking, design criticism, ecology and sustainability, globalisation, interculturality and future strategies will increasingly occupy us in the coming years.

 

Ecosystem of creative design craftsmanship

The aim of the Design Forum is to strengthen designers by making new potential, that design holds for social transformation, visible. At the same time, the Design Forum aims to boost the image of creative craftsmanship and support individual players, small craft businesses and manufactories in all aspects of their development. The political and economic consequences of globalisation threaten to destroy small and medium-sized manufactories. Worries about young talent, competition with industrial competing products or the monopolisation of trade lead to an economic reality in which it is difficult for them to survive. For many it is important to maintain the environmental conditions that support them. Their future depends on their ability to find a good balance between tradition and new paths.

This is also where digital competence comes into play: the younger generation in particular sees technologisation in the skilled trades as an opportunity to make processes more efficient — in order to start new creative processes. Craftsmanship and modern technologies complement each other. The digitalisation of design, manufacturing and distribution methods is bringing production and design closer together again.

At the centre of the forum are artistic craftsmanship and design as creative and at the same time economically significant disciplines. It is planned to locate cultural and creative actors on areas for financially strong anchor tenants and to offer low-cost services for economically weaker tenants at the intersection of the cultural and creative industries. The actors involved include various players such as manufactories, workshops, artisans, design studios, restorers, digital agencies, scientific institutes, manufactory research, associations and retailers.

 

The six areas of the Design Forum

The planned forum consists of six areas, which extend over the current head building and the old buildings of the Passarelle as well as the embossing hall in the centre. In addition, an extension building is planned on the embossing hall, which will extend the possible uses.

Direktorenhaus

The organisational centre of the Design Forum is the Direktorenhaus, which is already located in the town. As the “Center Management”, it takes over the controlling tasks; in the past, the “Directorate” of the Old Mint was also located here in the head building of the Old Mint.

Agora

The Forum will initially be open to visitors through generous exhibition areas in the middle of the area in the former minting hall. This is a flexible area. Temporary exhibitions, major events, concerts and similar public events can be held here to guide visitors into the area.

Workshops

The manufactory workshops planned in the Passarelle represent actual production sites in which manufactory production can be experienced. The possibilities here range from small studios to large-scale show workshops of well-known manufactories such as the Gipsformerei of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. It is conceivable that anchor tenants with economic security could be provided by Germany’s large nationwide manufactories. At the same time, interesting, rare trades could be placed in smaller plots, such as manufacturers of wall tapestries, musical instrument makers, boat builders, gilders, conservators, etc.

Retail spaces

The sales areas — in this case owner-managed and individual smaller retail companies — are grouped on the ground floor around the wide courtyard of the site, which, together with cafés and restaurants, becomes a place to stay in the lively centre of Berlin. In addition to this tourist aspect, the Slow Retail Store concepts also offer a very tangible factor: they offer a sales location for creative handicrafts and manufactured goods that is becoming increasingly rare.

 

Visual Concept of a possible future of “Alte Münze”

Educational establishments

The establishment of training institutions is a further core element in demonstrating the wealth of attractive and creative professions that creative craftsmanship offers. The Designforum can create a radiance for young people in which craftsmanship can again be experienced as a profession that is characterized by passion. It is the need for quality and substance that leads to the traces of craftsmanship, and many young people are looking for exactly that, but do not associate creative craftsmanship with a forward-looking (also financially attractive) job profile. The Designforum can exemplify the attractiveness of design and the artistic and can specifically target young people as a career option.

Associations

Finally, the associations, foundations and thematically related organisations (e.g. NGOs) form a last important area of settlement. These associations are responsible for networking and structuring groups of actors in specific thematic areas with a more targeted focus.

Extension

The embossing hall is to be extended by an additional building. The existing three-storey building will remain untouched on the outside and will be covered by a visually equally weighted supplementary body. This is a “doubled”, twin-like body that overlaps the existing one and is set off by a circumferentially contoured structural joint. Following the principle of “embossing”, individual components develop out of the body in relief, while other components move in behind the imaginary contour as “punched out”. The result is a moving, multi-layered body along a clear original contour.

 

Atrium-Space

The increase can be experienced from various city points outside the mint area as a “crown-like” vertical closure of the historical area and thus symbolizes the reorientation and vitalization of the content of the area. The planned structural extension also has pragmatic reasons: it serves to create additional space. The actual usable space in the existing building is limited, so if cheap cultural rents at the location are to be secured in the long term, space is needed that can be rented at the usual local rent.

Die Variante der Aufstockung ermöglicht zusätzliche Fläche und neue Plattformen (Konzept: Axel Binder)

Revitalisation of the city centre

The “Old Mint” is part of the cultural memory of the city. Through its future use as a design forum, the former old town centre will regain its urban quality and tourist appeal. As a path to orientation in Berlin’s cultural landscape, a consistent path will then lead from the Museum Island — ancient and classical — via the old palace/new Humboldt Forum to the present and via the Nikolai and monastery districts to the Design Forum to the place where questions about the future of our society will be dealt with.

More Information
& Questions to:
Claudia Wagner
wagner@direktorenhaus.com

Designforum Berlin

Blick auf das Münze-Oktogon, Entwurf von Axel Binder

Der Meis­terrat verfolgt das Vorhaben der Etablie­rung eines Design­fo­rums im Zentrum Berlins. Das konzi­pierte Design­forum möchte die zeit­ge­nös­si­schen Tendenzen des Designs, vor allem des kriti­schen und konzep­tio­nellen Designs, einer größeren Öffent­lich­keit nahe­bringen. Darüber hinaus sollen diese Trends und Entwick­lungen mit bestehenden konkreten Heran­ge­hens­weisen an Produk­tion und Konsum verbunden werden: also mit produ­zie­renden Unter­nehmen, Manu­fak­turen und Studios.

Das Design­forum in Berlin

Man wundert sich schon, dass es in Deutsch­land keinen zentralen Ort für zeit­ge­nös­si­sches Design gibt. Ein zentrales Museum oder ein Design-Areal wie in Wien, Paris oder London. Das über­rascht umso mehr, als dass Deutsch­land über eine lange Tradi­tion im Design verfügt, von kunst­hand­werk­li­chen Bewe­gungen wie Jugend­stil und Werk­bund ange­fangen bis hin zum Bauhaus oder zur Ulmer Schule, die welt­weit erfolg­reich die Design­welt inspi­rierte.

Lage­pläne des Design­fo­rums

In der öffent­li­chen Wahr­neh­mung wurden hier­zu­lande Gestal­tungs­fragen nach dem Krieg ins Abseits gerückt, und nur so läßt sich auch erklären, dass weder in der deut­schen Haupt­stadt, noch im Rest Deutsch­lands ein wirk­lich konzen­trierter Punkt exis­tiert, an dem aktu­elle Tendenzen des Designs präsen­tiert werden. Ange­sichts der gesell­schaft­li­chen Bedeu­tung von Design kann das lang­fristig nicht so bleiben.

Ein früherer Entwurf von Julie Biron am Beispiel der Alten Münze: Keine Aufsto­ckung, sondern eine parti­elle Umman­te­lung der Präge­halle

Das Design­forum bringt die Bereiche „künst­le­ri­sches Hand­werk“ und „Design“ an einem Ort zusammen. Beide Diszi­plinen beschäf­tigten sich seit einiger Zeit mit umfas­senden Aufgaben und rücken den Fokus auf den Menschen: weg vom räum­li­chen Objekt an und für sich, hin zu den Ideen und Lebens­mo­dellen, die hinter der Form stehen. Die Bewe­gung des Social Design tritt das Erbe von Bauhaus und Werk­bund an, indem es sich mit ganz­heit­li­chen Konzepten befasst, die alle Bereiche des Lebens mit einschließen. Design­denken, Design­kritik, Ökologie und Nach­hal­tig­keit, Globa­li­sie­rung und Inter­kul­tu­ra­lität und Zukunfts­stra­te­gien werden uns in den kommenden Jahren mehr und mehr beschäf­tigen.

 

Ökosystem des krea­tiven Design-Hand­werks

 

Ziel des Design­fo­rums ist es, Desi­gner zu stärken, in dem die neuen Poten­tiale, die Design für die gesell­schaft­liche Trans­for­ma­tion bereit­hält, sichtbar gemacht werden. Zugleich will das Design­forum einen Image­schub für das krea­tive Hand­werk bewirken und Einzel­ak­teure, kleine Hand­werks­be­triebe und Manu­fak­turen in allen Belangen ihrer Entwick­lung unter­stützen. Denn durch die poli­tisch-ökonomi­schen Folgen der Globa­li­sie­rung drohen kleine und mittel­stän­di­sche Manu­fak­turen unter­zu­gehen. Nach­wuchs­sorgen, der Wett­be­werb zu indus­triell gefer­tigten Konkur­renz­pro­dukten oder die Mono­po­li­sie­rung des Handels führen zu einer wirt­schaft­li­chen Realität, in der die diese nur schwer bestehen können. Für viele ist es wichtig, Umfeld­be­din­gungen zu erhalten, die sie stützen. Ihre Zukunft steht und fällt mit ihrer Fähig­keit, eine gute Balance zwischen Tradi­tion und neuen Wegen zu finden.

Hier kommt auch die Vermitt­lung digi­taler Kompe­tenz ins Spiel: Gerade die jüngere Genera­tion sieht Tech­no­lo­gi­sie­rung im Hand­werk als Chance, Abläufe effi­zi­enter zu gestalten, um neue krea­tive Prozesse zu beginnen. Hand­werk und moderne Tech­no­lo­gien ergänzen sich. Die Digi­ta­li­sie­rung von Entwurfs-, Herstel­lungs- und Vertriebs­me­thoden rückt Produk­tion und Gestal­tung wieder näher anein­ander.

Im Zentrum des Forums stehen künst­le­ri­sches Hand­werk und Design als schöp­fe­ri­sche und zugleich wirt­schaft­lich bedeut­same Diszi­plinen. Geplant ist die Ansie­de­lung von kultu­rellen und krea­tiven Akteuren auf Flächen für finanz­kräf­tige Anker­mieter und kosten­güns­tige Ange­bote für wirt­schaft­lich schwä­chere Mieter, die sich am Schnitt­punkt von Kultur- und Krea­tiv­wirt­schaft bewegen. Zu den Akteuren gehören unter­schied­liche Betei­ligte wie Manu­fak­turen, Werk­stätten, Kunst­hand­werker, Design­stu­dios, Restau­ra­toren, Digi­ta­l­agen­turen, wissen­schaft­liche Insti­tute, Manu­fak­tur­for­schung, Verbände oder Einzel­händler.

Die sechs Bereiche des Design­fo­rums

Das geplante Forum besteht aus sechs Berei­chen, die sich auf das derzei­tige Kopf­ge­bäude und den Altbau­be­stand der Passa­relle erstre­cken sowie auf die Präge­halle im Zentrum. Außerdem ist ein Erwei­te­rungsbau auf der Präge­halle geplant, der die Nutzungs­mög­lich­keiten erwei­tern wird.

Direk­to­ren­haus 

Das orga­ni­sa­to­ri­sche Zentrum des Design­fo­rums liegt im bereits am Ort ansäs­sigen Direk­to­ren­haus. Es über­nimmt als „Center-Manage­ment“ die steu­ernden Aufgaben; früher war hier im Kopf­ge­bäude der Alten Münze eben­falls die „Direk­tion“ derselben unter­ge­bracht.

Agora 

Dem Besu­cher öffnet sich das Forum zunächst durch groß­zü­gige Ausstel­lungs­flä­chen in der Mitte des Areals in der ehema­ligen Präge­halle. Dies ist ein flexi­bler Bereich. Hier können mit tempo­rären Ausstel­lungen, Groß­ver­an­stal­tungen, Konzerten und ähnlich publi­kums­wirk­samen Aktionen Besu­cher in das Areal geführt werden.

Werk­stätten 

Die Manu­faktur-Werk­stätten, die in der Passa­relle geplant sind, stellen tatsäch­liche Produk­ti­ons­orte dar, in denen die manu­fak­tu­ri­elle Produk­tion erfahrbar gemacht wird. Die Möglich­keiten reichen hier von kleinen Ateliers bis hin zu groß­flä­chigen Schau­werk­stätten bekannter Manu­fak­turen wie der Gips­for­merei der Staat­li­chen Museen zu Berlin. Denkbar sind wirt­schaft­lich abge­si­cherte Anker­mieter, die die großen bundes­weiten Manu­fak­turen Deutsch­lands stellen könnten. Gleich­zeitig könnten in klei­neren Parzellen inter­es­sante, seltene Gewerke plat­ziert werden wie Hersteller von Wand-Tapis­se­re­rien, Musik­in­stru­men­ten­bauer, Boots­bauer, Vergolder, Restau­ra­toren der Denkmalpflege,etc.

Einzel­han­dels­flä­chen 

Die Verkaufs­flä­chen – in diesem Fall inha­ber­ge­führte und indi­vi­du­elle klei­nere Unter­nehmen im Einzel­handel – grup­pieren sich im Erdge­schoß um den weiten Hof des Geländes, der so zusammen mit Cafés und Gastro­nomie zu einem Aufent­haltsort im belebten Zentrum Berlins wird. Neben diesem touris­ti­schen Aspekt bieten die Slow-Retail-Store-Konzepte aber einen ganz hand­festen Faktor: Sie bieten einen Verkaufsort für  krea­tives Hand­werk und Manu­faktur-Waren, den es so immer seltener gibt.

Die Alte Münze wirkt sehr geschlossen. Sie sollte „geöffnet“ werden.

Bildungs­ein­rich­tungen 

Die Ansie­de­lung von Ausbil­dungs­ein­rich­tungen ist ein weiterer Kern­be­stand­teil, um aufzu­zeigen, welche Fülle reiz­voller und schöp­fe­ri­scher Berufe das krea­tive Hand­werk bietet.  Das Design­forum kann eine Strahl­kraft für junge Menschen erzeugen, in dem Hand­werk wieder als Tun und Arbeiten, das von Leiden­schaft geprägt ist, kennen­ge­lernt werden kann. Es ist das Bedürfnis nach Qualität und Substanz, das auf die Spuren des Hand­werks führt, und viele junge Menschen suchen genau danach, verbinden mit dem krea­tiven Hand­werk aber kein zukunfts­wei­sendes (auch finan­ziell attrak­tives) Berufs­bild. Das Design­forum kann die Attrak­ti­vität von Design und künst­le­ri­schem vorleben und gezielt an junge Menschen als beruf­liche Option heran­tragen.

Verbände

Abschlie­ßend bilden die Verbände, Stif­tungen und thema­tisch nahe­ste­hende Orga­ni­sa­tionen (z.B. NGOs) einen letzten wich­tigen Ansied­lungs­be­reich. Diese Verbände über­nehmen die Vernet­zung und Struk­tu­rie­rung von Akteurs­gruppen in bestimmten thema­ti­schen Berei­chen mit einem geziel­teren Fokus.

Erwei­te­rungsbau

Die Präge­halle soll durch einen Erwei­te­rungsbau aufge­stockt werden. Das bestehende drei­ge­schos­sige Gebäude bleibt äußer­lich unan­ge­tastet und wird durch einen optisch gleich gewich­teten Ergän­zungs­körper über­baut. Dieser legt sich als „gedop­pelter“, zwil­lings­hafter Körper über den bestehenden und setzt sich mit einer umlau­fend kontu­rierten bauli­chen Fuge ab. Dem Prinzip der „Prägung“ folgend, entwi­ckeln sich einzelne Bauteile reli­ef­haft aus dem Körper heraus, während andere Bauteile als „ausge­stanzt“ hinter die gedachte Kontur einrü­cken. Es entsteht ein bewegter, mehr­schich­tiger Körper entlang einer klaren ursprüng­li­chen Kontur.

Schaf­fung von Atrium-Flächen

Die Aufsto­ckung kann von verschie­denen Stadt­punkten außer­halb des Münz­a­reals als „kronen­hafter“ verti­kaler Abschluss des histo­ri­schen Areals erfahren werden und symbo­li­siert so die inhalt­liche Neuaus­rich­tung und Vita­li­sie­rung des Areals. Die geplante bauliche Erwei­te­rung hat zudem prag­ma­ti­sche Gründe: sie dient der Schaf­fung zusätz­li­cher Fläche. Die tatsäch­liche Nutz­fläche im Bestandsbau ist begrenzt, so dass es, wenn güns­tige Kultur-Mieten am Standort lang­fristig gesi­chert werden sollen, Flächen bedarf, die zu orts­üb­li­cher Miete vermietet werden können.

Die Vari­ante der Aufsto­ckung ermög­licht zusätz­liche Fläche und neue Platt­formen (Konzept: Axel Binder)

Revi­ta­li­sie­rung des Stadt­kerns

Die „Alte Münze“ ist Teil des kultu­rellen Gedächt­nisses der Stadt. Durch die zukünf­tige Nutzung als Design­forum wird der frühere Altstadt­kern wieder an urbaner Qualität und touris­ti­scher Attrak­ti­vität gewinnen. Als Pfad zur Orien­tie­rung in der Kultur­land­schaft Berlins wird dann ein konse­quenter Weg von der Muse­ums­insel – der Antike und Klassik – über das alte Schloss/neue Humboldt Forum in die Gegen­wart und über das Nikolai- und Klos­ter­viertel zum Design­forum zu dem Ort führen, an dem Zukunfts­fragen unserer Gesell­schaft behan­delt werden.

Aktueller Termin
Planungsrunde Berlin.morgen
6.6.2019
Direktorenhaus, Berlin
Mehr Informationen
bei:
Claudia Wagner
wagner@direktorenhaus.com