10 years of Direktorenhaus

In 2020, Direk­toren­haus will cele­brate its 10th anniver­sary. In April 2020 this anniver­sary will be cele­brated in the house together with artists, part­ners and friends. Since 2010, it is as an art space in Berlin a connec­tion between applied art, design and contem­po­rary art.

In 2020, Direk­toren­haus will cele­brate its 10th anniver­sary. In April 2020 this anniver­sary will be cele­brated in the house together with artists, part­ners and friends. Since 2010 as an exhi­bi­tion house in Berlin a connec­tion between applied art, design and contem­po­rary art.

Exhi­bi­tion at Direk­toren­haus

In the early years the exhi­bi­tions of illus­tra­tion and painting still predom­i­nated, but since 2012 the presen­ta­tion of hand­i­crafts, manu­fac­to­ries and hand­i­craft collector’s items has become more impor­tant. The director’s house was founded by Pascal Johanssen and Katja Kleiss. The building was part of the Old Mint, the former mint at Werder­schen Markt. In the Second World War, during the bombing of Berlin, the under­ground vaults were used to store trea­sures from the Berlin museums.

After the fall of the Berlin Wall, the house stood empty for years and was visibly decaying. Pascal Johanssen and Katja Kleiss repaired large parts of the house with their own means and saved it from decay. When the house was occu­pied, it resem­bled a ruin.

To this day, Direk­toren­haus is a private cultural insti­tu­tion in Berlin that, supported by the German Craft Council, presents a combi­na­tion of applied art, design and contem­po­rary art. The focus of the exhi­bi­tions is always on the notice­ably increased impor­tance of design and aesthetics in contem­po­rary life. Thus, the program revolves around current phenomena of design and consciously includes the border areas to archi­tec­ture, art, and crafts­man­ship.

Soirée at Direk­toren­haus

In the past, the exhi­bi­tions followed a “galleristic” prin­ciple: there were 4–5 tempo­rary exhi­bi­tions per year, showing high-priced unique pieces, which were acces­sible to a small circle of inter­ested people. From May 2019 this will change: with an addi­tional newly created exhi­bi­tion area, the Director’s House will perma­nently display and open up hand­i­craft prod­ucts, unique designs and manu­fac­tured prod­ucts on four floors.

Bar

From autumn 2018, Direk­toren­haus will be presenting over 1,000 hand­crafted objects and manu­fac­tured prod­ucts under one roof — right across the areas of glass, porce­lain and ceramics, jewellery, metal, textiles, paper and furni­ture. All creations were hand­made by renowned German and inter­na­tional artists and work­shops. The Direk­toren­haus thus brings together unique editions that are hardly to be found on the market.

Am Krögel 2
10179 Berlin
Open: Monday — Friday 12 — 19 Uhr
More Information:
www.direktorenhaus.com

10 Jahre Direktorenhaus

Im Jahr 2020 feiert das Direk­to­ren­haus 10-jähriges Bestehen. Im April 2020 wird dieses Jubi­läum im Haus zusammen mit Künst­lern, Part­nern und Freu­enden gefeiert. Seit 2010 als Ausstel­lungs­haus in Berlin eine Verbin­dung zwischen ange­wandter Kunst, Design und Gegen­warts­kunst.

Im Jahr 2020 feiert das Direk­to­ren­haus 10-jähriges Bestehen. Im April 2020 wird dieses Jubi­läum im Haus zusammen mit Künst­lern, Part­nern und Freu­enden gefeiert. Seit 2010 als Ausstel­lungs­haus in Berlin eine Verbin­dung zwischen ange­wandter Kunst, Design und Gegen­warts­kunst.

Ausstel­lung im Direk­to­ren­haus

Über­wiegen in den Anfangs­jahren noch die Ausstel­lungen mit Illus­tra­tion und Malerei, wurden seit 2012 die Präsen­ta­tion von Hand­werk, Manu­fak­turen und kunst­hand­werk­li­chen Samm­ler­ob­jekten wich­tiger. Gegründet wurde das Direk­to­ren­haus von Pascal Johanssen und Katja Kleiss. Das Gebäude war Teil der Alten Münze, der ehema­ligen Münz­prä­ge­an­stalt am Werder­schen Markt. Im Zweiten Welt­krieg, während der Bombar­die­rung Berlins, dienten die unter­ir­di­schen Tresor­räume der Lage­rung von Schätzen aus den Berliner Museen.

Nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer stand das Haus jahre­lang leer und verfiel zuse­hends. Pascal Johanssen und Katja Kleiss setzten das Haus mit eigenen Mitteln in weiten Teilen instand und bewahrten es vor dem Verfall. Als das Haus bezogen wurde, glich es einer Ruine.

Das Direk­to­ren­haus ist bis heute eine private kultu­relle Insti­tu­tion in Berlin, die, getragen vom Meis­terrat, eine Verbin­dung von ange­wandter Kunst, Design und Gegen­warts­kunst präsen­tiert. Im Zentrum der Ausstel­lungen steht stets die spürbar gestie­gene Bedeu­tung von Design und Ästhetik im heutigen Leben. So kreist das Programm um aktu­elle Phäno­mene des Designs und bezieht bewusst die Grenz­ge­biete zu Archi­tektur, Kunst und Hand­werk mit ein.

Soirée im Direk­to­ren­haus

In der Vergan­gen­heit folgten die Ausstel­lungen einem „gale­ris­ti­schen“ Prinzip: Es gab 4–5 Wech­sel­aus­stel­lungen pro Jahr, die hoch­prei­sige Unikate zeigten, die eher einem kleinen Kreis an Inter­es­sierten zugäng­lich waren. Ab Mai 2019 ändert sich das: Mit zusätz­lich neu geschaf­fener Ausstel­lungs­fläche wird das Direk­to­ren­haus auf 4 Etagen dauer­haft kunst­hand­werk­liche Produkte, Design-Unikate und Manu­fak­tur­pro­dukte zeigen und sich öffnen.

In der Bar

Das Direk­to­ren­haus präsen­tiert ab Herbst 2018 über 1.000 kunst­hand­werk­liche Objekte und Manu­fak­tur­pro­dukte unter einem Dach – quer durch die Bereiche Glas, Porzellan und Keramik, Schmuck, Metall, Textil, Papier und Möbel. Alle Krea­tionen wurden mit der Hand ange­fer­tigt und stammen von renom­mierten deut­schen und inter­na­tio­nalen Künst­lern und Werk­stätten. Das Direk­to­ren­haus versam­melt so einzig­ar­tige Editionen, die so im Handel kaum zu finden sind.

Am Krögel 2
10179 Berlin
Geöffnet: Montag – Freitag 12 – 19 Uhr
Weitere Informationen:
www.direktorenhaus.com