New at Direktorenhaus: Urban Tarrazzo

Urban Terrazzo, ein Projekt von They Feed Off Buildings

From September 2019, a new material library will open at Direktorenhaus. The materials archive includes bio-based materials as well as recycled materials, lightweight construction materials, biodegradable materials and multifunctional materials. A colour archive will be added.

New materials are regularly presented in evening presentations. The first one is Urban Tarrazo, a project of the two Berlin women Rasa Weber (29) and Luisa Rubisch (28). The two are the core team of the design and architecture collective “They feed off Buildings”. They have developed “Urban Terrazzo” from rubble. This is a material for surfaces such as flooring or worktops, cast from concrete with small and large pieces of demolition therein.

 

The two designers got to know each other in the master’s degree in product design at the Berlin University of the Arts (UdK). Luisa Rubisch had previously studied urban planning at the Technical University of Berlin. Rasa Weber completed her bachelor’s degree in product design at the Kunsthochschule Weißensee and the Design Academy Eindhoven. The Urban Terrazzo project was their joint master’s thesis.

Antique flooring reinterpreted

Terrazzo has been used as flooring since ancient times. It was originally laid by local craftsmen: small, often coloured stones or other materials were applied to a screed.

 

TFOB, Berlin Brick Gold

After drying, it was sanded and polished to create a smooth, shiny surface. Because terrazzo can be made from cheap and readily available quarry materials, the flooring experienced a renaissance in the post-war period.

Weber and Rubisch are also concerned with the sensible recycling of leftovers. The aspect of sustainability was a “key factor” for the two designers. But they also see traces of the old buildings in the rubble. A piece of history that ends up on the rubbish dump. Most of the material used by Weber and Rubisch comes from two recycling yards. One is in Berlin, the other near Verona.

TFOB, Industrial Black

Berlin, for example, contains a lot of Lusatian granite, including post-war concrete, in which bricks were used as an aggregate, a very colorful concrete. In Italy, on the other hand, Urban Tarrazzo finds marble, old terrazzo or terracotta in building rubble.

For the production of Urban Terrazzo products, Luisa Rubisch and Rasa Weber had an extremely strong concrete developed, particularly fine and hard at the same time, with which the fragments are cast into slabs and enables them to “also integrate piecework”. The quality of the visually unusual and sustainable Tarrazzo product has spread. Weber and Rubisch were awarded the start-up scholarship “Creative Prototyping” by the UdK, won the German Ecodesign Award, among others, and were honoured as newcomer finalists at the German Design Award 2019 of the German Design Council.

Neu im Direktorenhaus: Urban Tarrazzo

Urban Terrazzo, ein Projekt von They Feed Off Buildings

Ab September 2019 wird im Direktorenhaus eine neue Materialbibliothek eröffnen. Das Material-Archiv umfasst sowohl biobasierte Materialien als auch Recyclingmaterialien, Leichtbaumaterialien, biologisch abbaubare Materialien und Multifunktionsmaterialien. Es wird ergänzt um ein Farbarchiv.

Regelmäßig werden neue Materialien in abendlichen Präsentationen vorgestellt. Den Anfang macht Urban Tarrazo, ein Projekt der beiden Berlinerinnen Rasa Weber (29) und Luisa Rubisch (28). Die beiden sind das Kernteam des Design- und Architektur-Kollektivs „They feed off Buildings“, zu Deutsch etwa „Sie ernähren sich von Häusern“. Sie haben aus dem Bauschutt „Urban Terrazzo“ entwickelt. Das ist ein Material für Oberflächen wie Fußboden- oder Arbeitsplatten, gegossen aus Beton mit kleinen und großen Stücken Abriss darin.

Kennengelernt haben sich die beiden Designerinnen im Masterstudiengang Produktdesign an der Berliner Universität der Künste (UdK). Luisa Rubisch hatte vorher an der Technischen Universität Berlin Stadtplanung studiert. Rasa Weber absolvierte ihr Bachelorstudium Produktdesign an der Kunsthochschule Weißensee und der Design Academy Eindhoven. Das Projekt Urban Terrazzo war ihre gemeinsame Master-Arbeit.

Antiker Bodenbelag neu interpretiert

Als Bodenbelag gibt es Terrazzo seit der Antike. Ursprünglich verlegten ihn die Handwerker vor Ort: Kleine, oft farbige Steine oder andere Materialien wurden auf einen Estrich aufgebracht.

TFOB, Berlin Brick Gold

Nach dem Trocknen geschliffen und poliert entstand eine glatte, glänzende Oberfläche. Weil man für Terrazzo günstige und leicht verfügbare Bruch-Materialien verwenden kann, erlebte der Bodenbelag in der Nachkriegszeit eine Renaissance.

Auch Weber und Rubisch geht es um die sinnvolle Verwertung von Resten. Der Aspekt der Nachhaltigkeit war dabei für die beiden Gestalterinnen ein Schlüsselfaktor“. Im Bauschutt sehen die beiden aber auch die Spuren der alten Gebäude. Ein Stück Historie, das da auf der Mülldeponie landet. Meistens stammt das Material, das Weber und Rubisch verarbeiten, von zwei Recyclinghöfen. Einer davon ist in Berlin, der andere in der Nähe von Verona gelegen.

TFOB, Industrial Black

In Berlin sei beispielsweise viel Lausitzer Granit enthalten, auch Beton aus der Nachkriegszeit, in dem dann wiederum Ziegelsteine als Zuschlagstoff verarbeitet wurden, ein sehr bunter Beton. In Italien hingegen findet Urban Tarrazzo im Bauschutt eher Marmor, alten Terrazzo oder Terrakotta.

Für die Herstellung der Urban-Terrazzo-Produkte ließen Luisa Rubisch und Rasa Weber einen extrem festen Beton entwickeln, besonders fein und gleichzeitig hart, mit dem die Bruchstücke zu Platten gegossen werden und ermöglicht, dass sie auch Stückwerk mit einbinden können“. Die Qualität des optisch ungewöhnlichen und nachhaltigen Tarrazzo-Produktes hat sich herumgesprochen. Weber und Rubisch bekamen das Start-up-Stipendium „Creative Prototyping“ der UdK zugesprochen, gewannen unter anderem den Bundespreis Ecodesign, und sie wurden als Newcomer-Finalisten beim German Design Award 2019 des Rats für Formgebung ausgezeichnet.