Quo vadis, German Fashion?

Lookbook Frank Leder Men's fashion AW 2019 in Wien

Since 2019, the German Craft Council has been increas­ingly committed to coop­er­a­tion with fashion asso­ci­a­tions to strengthen German fashion produc­tion. To this end, votes are held with the Fashion Council Germany (FCG), the Asso­ci­a­tion of German Fashion Designers (VDMD), the German Fashion Designer’s Feder­a­tion (GFDF) and the Asso­ci­a­tion of Berlin Fashion Designers (VBM). The aim is to develop a coor­di­nated strategy to support medium-sized fashion and textile manu­fac­turers, which has become neces­sary due to the changed envi­ron­mental condi­tions of recent years.

As far as fashion is concerned, we do not have the same cultural tradi­tion in Germany as in France, Italy or England. This applies to the entire spec­trum of “sensual design produc­tion”, including luxu­rious product design, for example, but above all: fashion. Some German fashion labels sell quite well, but if you want to be one of the top 20 players, you have to think in inter­na­tional terms.

These uncer­tain­ties are offset by ideal­istic shifts within the industry: Consumers are changing, demanding not only direct shop­ping expe­ri­ences, but also absolute corpo­rate trans­parency — from produc­tion processes to sustain­ability issues and data protec­tion. Fashion manu­fac­turers must there­fore ques­tion or even dissolve previous busi­ness models. This includes above all an inno­v­a­tive approach to digi­tal­i­sa­tion and a rethink towards on-demand produc­tion.

If you take a closer look at the sales figures, you can see that the German fashion labels expe­ri­enced several decades in which things went very well — and that things will not neces­sarily continue like this now. In the past 20 years, some compa­nies have earned a lot of money, the founding gener­a­tions of these compa­nies have achieved a lot. But now there are moments of disrup­tion and the current retail trade is reaching its limits. In general, less money is spent on clothing, people prefer to invest in expe­ri­ences, such as travel. How can you still get people excited about fashion? These are simply chal­lenges that this industry has never known before. More­over, there is no longer a general upswing that pulls all compa­nies with it.

Quo vadis deutsche Mode?

Lookbook Frank Leder Men's fashion AW 2019 in Wien

Der Meisterrat engagiert sich seit 2019 verstärkt für die Zusammenarbeit mit Modeverbänden zur Stärkung der deutschen Modeproduktion. Hierzu erfolgen Abstimmungen mit dem Fashion Council Germany (FCG), dem Verband der Deutschen Modedesigner (VDMD), der German Fashion Designer’s Federation (GFDF) sowie dem Verband Berliner Modedesigner, VBM. Ziel ist die Entwicklung einer abgestimmten Strategie für die Unterstützung mittelständischer Mode-und Textil-Manufakturen, die aufgrund der veränderten Umfeldbedingungen der letzten Jahre notwendig wird.

Was Mode betrifft, haben wir haben in Deutschland nicht die gleiche Kulturtradition wie in Frankreich, Italien oder auch England. Das betrifft zwar die gesamte Bandbreite der „sinnlichen Design-Produktion“, also auch z.B. luxuriöses Produktdesign, vor allem aber auch die Mode. Deutsche Modelabels verkaufen z.T. durchaus gut; aber wenn man zu den Top-20-Playern gehören will, muss man in internationalen Dimensionen denken.

Diesen Unsicherheiten stehen ideelle Verschiebungen innerhalb der Branche gegenüber: Die Endkonsumenten verändern sich, fordern neben unmittelbaren Shopping-Erlebnissen auch absolute Transparenz der Unternehmen – von Produktionsabläufen über Nachhaltigkeitsthemen bis hin zum Datenschutz. Mode-Manufakturen müssen sich daher bisherige Geschäftsmodelle in Frage stellen oder gar auflösen. Dazu gehören vor allem ein innovativer Umgang mit Digitalisierung und das Umdenken in die On-Demand-Produktion.

Wenn man sich die Verkaufszahlen genauer anschaut, dann sieht man, dass die deutschen Modelabels einige Jahrzehnte erlebten, in denen es sehr gut lief – und dass es jetzt nicht zwangsläufig so weitergehen wird. In den vergangenen 20 Jahren haben einige Unternehmen viel Geld verdient, die Gründergenerationen dieser Unternehmen haben viel geleistet. Aber jetzt sind Störmomente da und der aktuelle Einzelhandel stößt an seine Grenzen. Es wird generell weniger Geld für Kleidung ausgegeben, die Leute wollen lieber in Erlebnisse investieren, etwa in Reisen. Wie soll man die Menschen noch für Mode begeistern? Das sind einfach Herausforderungen, die diese Branche bislang nicht kannte. Überdies gibt es keinen allgemeinen Aufschwung mehr, der alle Firmen quasi mit sich zieht.