Gottseidank!

Gottseidank Modelabel, Atelierfotografie

Designing means offering aesthetic resistance. Friedrich von Borries threw this bonmot into space in his book “Weltenentwerfen. A Political Design Theory”. When deciding whether — and how — one wants to be active as a designer in the present “designing” or “subjugating”, the framework conditions of the respective society within which the designers operate must be taken into account.

Consequently, without a healthy dose of courage one cannot get any further in design. In terms of fashion, it was unthinkable for a long time in Germany for young fashion designers to venture into the subject of traditional costumes. Thank God (“Gottseidank”) there have been new impulses for some time now.

Gottseidank

Gottseidank from Munich reinterprets traditional costume fashion. In times of globalisation, traditional costume conveys textile messages of individuality and identity, the unique and the local, the authentic and the lived. Modernizing Tracht requires an understanding of historical as well as contemporary influences and developments. A conscious and authentic understanding of traditional costume not only leads to the preservation of passed on values and techniques, but also to their substantial further development, which can be groundbreaking and formative.

 

Gottseidank, Atelier

The combination of futurism and the past are the determining and promoting components of one and the same path. It is about a reciprocal relationship between the proven, the present and the future. Gottseidank identifies itself with the history and tradition of traditional costume and wants to remain faithful to it.

Gottseidank, Tracht

The credo of Gottseidank is to create a traditional costume that meets historical demands and at the same time meets the needs of today’s urban society. Gottseidank is not interested in reinventing the traditional costume, but in developing it authentically in today’s context. In the end, the meaning of traditional costume remains unfathomable. Each wearer has his or her own personality. Thank God we want to give impulses to this personality with our costume creations.

Gottseidank at Direktorenhaus
Presentation
24.5.2019
Direktorenhaus, Berlin
Webseite
http://gottseidank.com

Gottseidank!

Gottseidank Modelabel, Atelierfotografie

Entwerfen bedeutet, ästhe­ti­schen Wider­stand zu leisten. Fried­rich von Borries warf dieses Bonmot in den Raum in seinem Buch „Welten­ent­werfen. Eine poli­ti­sche Design­theorie“. Bei der Entschei­dung, ob – und wie – man als Desi­gner in der Gegen­wart „entwer­fend“ oder „unter­wer­fend“ tätig sein möchte, sind die Rahmen­be­din­gungen der jewei­ligen Gesell­schaft zu berück­sich­tigen, inner­halb derer die Desi­gner agieren.

Ohne eine gesunde Portion Mut kommt man folg­lich auch im Design nicht weiter. Für die Mode gespro­chen war es in Deutsch­land lange Zeit undenkbar, dass sich junge Mode­de­si­gner an das Thema Trachten heran­wagen. Gott­sei­dank gibt es seit einiger Zeit neue Impulse.

Gottseidank

Gott­sei­dank aus München inter­pre­tiert die Trach­ten­mode neu. In Zeiten der Globa­li­sie­rung trans­por­tiert Tracht textile Botschaften von Indi­vi­dua­lität und Iden­tität, dem Einzig­ar­tigen und Lokalen, dem Authen­ti­schen und Gelebten. Tracht in der Moderne benö­tigt ein Verständnis für histo­ri­sche sowie für gegen­wär­tige Einflüsse und Entwick­lungen. Ein bewusstes und authen­ti­sches Trach­ten­ver­ständnis führt nicht nur zum Erhalt weiter­ge­ge­bener Werte und Tech­niken, sondern auch zu einer substan­ti­ellen Weiter­ent­wick­lung derselben, die wegwei­send und prägend sein kann.

Gott­sei­dank, Atelier

Die Kombi­na­tion von Futu­rismus und Vergan­gen­heit sind dabei sich bedin­gende und fördernde Kompo­nenten ein und desselben Weges. Es geht um eine wech­sel­sei­tige Bezie­hung zwischen Bewährtem, Jetzigen und Kommendem. Gott­sei­dank iden­ti­fi­ziert sich mit der Historie und Tradi­tion von Tracht und will dieser treu bleiben.

Gott­sei­dank, Tracht

Das Credo von Gott­sei­dank ist es, ein Trach­ten­ge­wand herzu­stellen, das histo­ri­schen Ansprü­chen und gleich­zeitig einer heutigen urbanen Gesell­schaft gerecht wird. Bei Gott­sei­dank geht es uns nicht darum das Trach­ten­ge­wand neu zu erfinden, sondern darum es im heutigen Kontext authen­tisch weiter­zu­ent­wi­ckeln. Der Sinn von Tracht bleibt dabei letzt­lich uner­gründ­lich. Jeder Träger und jede Trägerin erfüllt Tracht mit einer eigenen Persön­lich­keit. Dieser Persön­lich­keit will Gott­sei­dank mit den Trach­ten­schöp­fungen Impulse geben.

Aktueller Termin
Gottseidank im Direktorenhaus
Präsentation
24.5.2019
Direktorenhaus, Berlin
Webseite
http://gottseidank.com